NVIDIA RTX 4090 cloud prices
Rented today by 23 providers with a current on-demand offer, from $0.13 to $1.30 per GPU-hour, median $0.44. Every number below links to the page it was read from, with its read date.
Specifications: manufacturer datasheet citation pending.
- Median
- $0.44 23 providers, once each
- 30 days
- +17.2%
- 90 days
- —
RTX 4090 prices today
Cheapest, median and spread among current offers. Medians count one floor per marketplace and need at least three offers.
Today's podium · on-demand · readings of the last 45 days · reference Nov 1, 2026 21:35 UTCWho rents the RTX 4090 best today
Cheapest true cost, best throughput per dollar, highest Trust Score. One provider per step, ten places, every row dated.
Best value
Most throughput per dollar for LLM inference · Trust ≥ 60 first, then provisional · estimated
GPUBank1× · France · SingaporeValue 93$0.23
Salad1× · 21:10 UTCValue 83$0.44- 4
Sesterce Cloud8× · USValue 83$0.44
- 5
Beam1× · 21:35 UTCValue 83$0.44
Most trusted
Highest Trust Score among providers with an eligible offer · unscored providers follow, cheapest first
Every RTX 4090 offer, with its receipt
Current offers ranked by true cost, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey, and never enter a ranking.
| Provider | Configuration | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1× RTX 409016 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 3,309.425 GB disk | Taiwan | In stock | $0.13 | $0.13 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409016 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 2,502.439 GB disk | Taiwan | In stock | $0.13 | $0.13 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40907.5 GB RAM · 1,441.8 GB disk | US | In stock | $0.13 | $0.13 | 21:06 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409016 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 2,982.761 GB disk | Taiwan | Unavailable | $0.17 | $0.17 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409011 vCPU · 64 GB RAM · 1,024 GB disk | US | In stock | $0.18 | $0.18 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409011 vCPU · 64 GB RAM · 1,718.321 GB disk | US | In stock | $0.18 | $0.18 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409011 vCPU · 64 GB RAM · 1,820.839 GB disk | US | In stock | $0.18 | $0.18 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409016 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 1,775.479 GB disk | US | In stock | $0.19 | $0.19 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40908 vCPU · 12 GB RAM · 849.336 GB disk | RU | In stock | $0.22 | $0.22 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40908 vCPU · 41 GB RAM · 500 GB NVMe | France · Singapore | In stock | $0.23 | $0.23 | Oct 25, 2026older reading | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40904 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 253,256 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.24 | $0.24 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40904 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 20,120 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.24 | $0.24 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40904 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 822.832 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.24 | $0.24 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409012 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 50 GB disk | Korea | Stock unknown | $0.25 | $0.25 | 21:13 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 2× RTX 409014 vCPU · 24 GB RAM · 370.794 GB disk | UA | Unavailable | $0.25 | $0.25 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409014 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 358.401 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.25 | $0.25 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409014 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 817.668 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.25 | $0.25 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409016 vCPU · 64 GB RAM · 1,721.496 GB disk | UA | In stock | $0.26 | $0.26 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409014 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 340.876 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.26 | $0.26 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 40904 vCPU · 16 GB RAM · 128 GB disk | BY | Unavailable | $0.27 | $0.27 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409016 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 371.818 GB disk | Netherlands | Unavailable | $0.27 | $0.27 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409014 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 392.525 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.27 | $0.27 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409014 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 390.138 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.27 | $0.27 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 1× RTX 409014 vCPU · 32 GB RAM · 171.211 GB disk | RU | Unavailable | $0.27 | $0.27 | 21:08 UTCfresh | Receipt | |
| 2× RTX 409021.333333333333332 vCPU · 83.8 GB RAM · 503.3 GB disk | Romania | In stock | $0.27 | $0.27 | 21:07 UTCfresh | Receipt |
Show 2 older readings (listed, never ranked)
| Provider | Configuration | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RTX 4090 | — | Stock unknown | $0.30 | $0.30 | Sep 12, 2026older reading | Receipt | |
| Genesis CloudTrust 36aggregator reading | RTX 4090 | — | Stock unknown | $0.55 | $0.55 | Jun 15, 2026older reading | Receipt |
Price per unit, and what fits
The same hour, divided by what the card gives you; then the smallest real configuration for the most downloaded open models.
| Unit | At the cheapest | At the median |
|---|---|---|
| per GB of VRAM · hour24 GB | $0.006 | $0.018 |
| per TB/s of bandwidth · hour1.01 TB/s | $0.134 | $0.437 |
| Model | Needs | Smallest config | $ / month |
|---|---|---|---|
| all MiniLM L6 v2Sentence Transformers | 1 GBFP8 | 1× RTX 4090at Clore.ai | $94 |
| paraphrase multilingual MiniLM L12 v2Sentence Transformers | 1 GBFP8 | 1× RTX 4090at Clore.ai | $94 |
| bge-m3BAAI | 1 GBFP8 | 1× RTX 4090at Clore.ai | $94 |
| Qwen3 0.6BQwen | 1 GBFP8 | 1× RTX 4090at Clore.ai | $94 |
| all-mpnet-base-v2Sentence Transformers | 1 GBFP8 | 1× RTX 4090at Clore.ai | $94 |
| bge-reranker-v2-m3BAAI | 1 GBFP8 | 1× RTX 4090at Clore.ai | $94 |
What the market looked like for the RTX 4090
Our market study: the cheapest hours we could actually read on providers' own pages, who to pick for which job, and the caveats behind each figure.
GPUBank's interruptible RTX 4090 costs $0.14 with the same 8 vCPU, 41 GB of RAM, 500 GB NVMe disk, IPv4 address and traffic as on demand, five minutes of notice before a reclaim and the disk kept 1. Clore.ai's own snapshot of 21 September found one free spot server at $0.10, against a $0.365 spot median, and a higher bid can take it mid-run 8.
SaladCloud's lowest priority costs $0.16 an hour with vCPU and RAM included, on consumer PCs that can be reclaimed at any time and with no persistent disk 9.
GPUBank's $0.23 covers 8 vCPU, 41 GB of RAM, a 500 GB NVMe disk, an IPv4 address and all traffic, billed per second, ahead of Runpod Community at $0.34 and Vast.ai's cheapest listing at $0.36 before storage; a top-up bonus brings the hour to about $0.14 to $0.19 1 11 7.
Which to choose
| Your situation | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Creators running ComfyUI, SDXL or FLUX | GPUBank RTX 4090 on demand | Per-second billing, a cheap persistent disk for the model library and included traffic make short sessions cheapest at $0.23 an hour. |
| Large batch jobs that checkpoint | GPUBank interruptible, or a Clore.ai or SaladCloud floor | At $0.14 with notice and the disk kept, or $0.10 to $0.16 if you accept reclaims without notice and re-downloads. |
| LoRA fine-tuning up to 8B | RTX 4090, interruptible for long runs | QLoRA on 8B fits in 24 GB, and a trainer that checkpoints loses minutes, not hours, when the card is reclaimed. |
| Models above 24 GB or long contexts | RTX 5090, L40S or RTX PRO 6000 | A 70B model needs about 40 GB at 4-bit; paying for memory beats splitting a model across cards with no NVLink. |
Published benchmarks on file
FLUX.1 dev, seconds per image — ComfyUI standard FLUX dev FP8 template, community runs (4090: PyTorch 2.9.1, ComfyUI 0.6.0, Dec 2025) (unit: s, lower is better) 22
| Configuration | Value |
|---|---|
| RTX 3090 | 26.0 |
| RTX 4090 | 11.28 |
| RTX 5090 | 8.78 |
ComfyUI GitHub discussion #9002; each result posted by a user, second or later render
llama.cpp, tokens per second generated — Llama 2 7B Q4_0, llama-bench tg128, flash attention on, CUDA backend (unit: tok/s, higher is better) 23
| Configuration | Value |
|---|---|
| RTX 4090 | 188.96 |
| A100 80 GB | 200.9 |
| RTX 5090 | 300.4 |
llama.cpp CUDA scoreboard, ggml-org discussion #15013
vLLM, batched throughput — Qwen3-Coder-30B-A3B-Instruct AWQ, one GPU, 1,200 requests of 1,000 in and 1,000 out tokens, high concurrency (unit: tok/s, higher is better) 14
| Configuration | Value |
|---|---|
| RTX 4090 | 2259 |
| RTX 5090 | 4570 |
| RTX PRO 6000 | 8425 |
CloudRift, RTX 4090 vs 5090 vs PRO 6000 LLM inference benchmark, 9 Oct 2025
Provider by provider
GPUBank$0.23/hr · Managed on demand · Frankfurt, Ashburn, Paris queue.
$0.23/hr · Managed on demand · Frankfurt, Ashburn, Paris queue. Includes: 8 vCPU, 41 GB RAM, 500 GB NVMe, IPv4, All traffic; Disk $0.03/GB-mo, Interruptible $0.14, Reserved $0.18. GPUBank lists the RTX 4090 at $0.23 an hour on demand, $0.000064 a second, and the rate covers the vCPUs, the memory, the local NVMe scratch disk, one public IPv4 address and all traffic, in machines of one to four GPUs. The only other line on the bill is a persistent disk at $0.03 per GB-month. Billing is per second with no minimum and starts only once the machine has passed its health check, a failed launch is not billed, and a host failure during a job restarts the machine on a healthy host with the same disk and credits the session in full. The interruptible tier costs $0.14 with five minutes of notice and a stop rather than a deletion, and a week or a month reserved costs $0.18. Payment is a prepaid balance topped up in crypto from $25, with a bonus that brings the effective hour to between $0.14 and $0.19; cards are not accepted for now 1. The card is listed in Frankfurt and Ashburn, with Paris on a waiting queue 2.
Vast.aifrom $0.36/hr · Marketplace · host-set price per listing.
from $0.36/hr · Marketplace · host-set price per listing. Includes: Host's CPU and RAM share; Storage at host rate, Bandwidth at host rate, Bids from $0.27. Vast.ai is the reference RTX 4090 marketplace, and its public offer search, which we queried on 16 October, is where the floor and median below come from. The cheapest single-card on-demand listing was $0.36 for the GPU, on a US host with a 99.6 percent reliability score, the median per-GPU rate across all listings was $0.53, and interruptible bids started at $0.27 7. The $0.14 floor still quoted on some Vast pages and in older articles was not in the live offers. Each host also sets a storage rate, about $0.20 per GB-month on the cheap listings, billed for as long as the instance exists even while it is stopped, and a bandwidth rate per gigabyte. Listings show the CPU share, the PCIe link and the measured memory bandwidth, and the cheapest hosts are not always the fastest, so a short benchmark before a long job is worth its few cents.
SaladCloud$0.16 to $0.33/hr · Distributed consumer PCs · four priority tiers.
$0.16 to $0.33/hr · Distributed consumer PCs · four priority tiers. Includes: vCPU, RAM; No persistent disk, Reclaimable at every tier. SaladCloud runs containers on consumer PCs and sells the RTX 4090 at four priorities: $0.330 an hour at high, $0.273 at medium, $0.217 at low and $0.160 at the lowest batch tier, billed per second while the container runs, with allocation, image download and start-up not charged and vCPU and RAM included 9. Those rates have applied since a price change on 12 September 2026 10. The price is low because the machines belong to people who use them, so a container can be moved off a PC at any time and a higher-priority workload displaces a lower one. There is no persistent disk, so model weights travel in the image or come from object storage you pay for elsewhere, and a production endpoint needs at least two replicas. For a large batch of images that tolerates restarts, the lowest tier is one of the cheapest published 4090 hours anywhere.
Runpod$0.34/hr · Community Cloud · Secure Cloud at $0.89.
$0.34/hr · Community Cloud · Secure Cloud at $0.89. Includes: 6 vCPU, 41 GB RAM; Volume $0.10/GB-mo, $0.20 idle, Network volume $0.07/GB-mo. Runpod's pricing page, updated 8 October 2026, lists the RTX 4090 with 6 vCPU and 41 GB of RAM at $0.89 an hour on Secure Cloud, the tab it shows by default, and its structured data gives $0.34 for Community Cloud, which runs on third-party hosts 11. GetDeploying showed the Secure tier in stock in 1, 2 and 4-card sizes and the Community tier out of stock on 16 October 21. Billing is per second, and storage is a separate line: a volume disk costs $0.10 per GB-month while the pod runs and $0.20 while it is stopped, and a network volume costs $0.07 per GB-month under 1 TB, which is how a 100 GB model library adds $7 a month. The serverless RTX 4090 worker is $1.10 an hour. Runpod's own guide, updated on 15 October, describes the card as end of life and still selling above its launch price 12.
CloudRift$0.39/hr · Managed on demand · reservations from $0.33.
$0.39/hr · Managed on demand · reservations from $0.33. Includes: 800 GB local storage, Networking, No egress fees; 1 month $0.35, 3 months $0.33. CloudRift lists the RTX 4090 at $0.39 an hour on demand, billed by the second while the instance runs, with up to ten GPUs per instance 13. Its FAQ says the rate covers compute, the attached local storage shown in the pricing table, 800 GB per card for this model, networking and standard support, and that there are no egress, ingress or API-call charges. A one-month reservation costs $0.35 and a three-month reservation $0.33, and the page warns that prices fluctuate and availability varies. The pricing table does not state the vCPU and RAM that come with each card, so check the configuration in the console before you launch. CloudRift also publishes its own vLLM benchmarks of the 4090 against the RTX 5090 and the RTX PRO 6000, which we use in the performance section 14.
Clore.aispot from $0.10/hr · Marketplace · snapshot of 21 Sep 2026.
spot from $0.10/hr · Marketplace · snapshot of 21 Sep 2026. Includes: Host-set CPU, RAM, disk; Renter fee 1.25% spot, 5% on demand, Per-minute billing. Clore.ai publishes the most useful dated snapshot of any marketplace. On 21 September 2026 it counted 243 servers carrying 378 RTX 4090s, 130 of them unrented; the median on-demand quote was $0.375 per GPU-hour across 230 quotes and the median spot quote $0.365, the cheapest free server on spot was $0.100, and the median of the unrented servers was $0.583, because idle cards tend to be the overpriced ones 8. The page title advertised from $0.28 on the day we read it. Clore bills by the minute and takes a 2.5 percent fee on spot and 10 percent on on-demand rentals, split equally between renter and host. Spot rentals are won by bid and a higher bid can take the machine mid-run. Bare-metal blocks of five cards for 14 days in the UK and eight cards for 30 days in Japan and Hong Kong were quoted at $0.40 to $0.94 per GPU-hour.
Questions answered in the study
Where is the cheapest place to rent an RTX 4090?
The cheapest RTX 4090 hours are on capacity that can be taken back, and which one is cheapest depends on how much risk you accept. Clore.ai's snapshot of 21 September 2026 found a free spot server at $0.10 per GPU-hour, but that was one server among 243 and a higher bid can take it 8. GPUBank's interruptible tier is $0.14 with five minutes of notice and the disk kept, and SaladCloud's lowest priority is $0.16 on consumer PCs with no persistent disk 1 9. For capacity that cannot be interrupted, GPUBank's $0.23 is the lowest all-in price we found, ahead of Novita AI at $0.33, Runpod Community at $0.34 and Vast.ai's cheapest listing at $0.36 before storage and bandwidth 16 11 7.
How much does an RTX 4090 cost per hour to rent?
An RTX 4090 costs between $0.10 and $0.89 an hour to rent in October 2026, and most offers that include a usable machine fall between $0.23 and $0.45. The low end is spot and priority capacity: Clore.ai at $0.10 in its September snapshot, GPUBank interruptible at $0.14 and SaladCloud from $0.16 8 1 9. On demand, GPUBank charges $0.23, Novita AI $0.33, Runpod Community $0.34, Vast.ai from $0.36, CloudRift and packet.ai $0.39 and Beam $0.44 7 13 15. Datacenter-style fixed offers cost more, with Runpod Secure Cloud at $0.89 11. GetDeploying's median on-demand rate across twelve providers was $0.47 on 16 October 21. Compare what each price includes before you compare the numbers.
Why don't AWS, Google Cloud or Azure rent the RTX 4090?
The large clouds do not rent the RTX 4090 because NVIDIA's driver licence says that GeForce software is not licensed for datacenter deployment. The clause is 2.8 in the current licence, dated 25 February 2025, and it also limits GeForce software to GeForce hardware you own 5. NVIDIA first added the restriction at the end of 2017 and said at the time that it wanted to keep GeForce cards out of demanding, large-scale enterprise environments 6. AWS, Google Cloud, Azure and Oracle therefore offer the datacenter L4 and L40S instead. The 4090 comes only from specialised GPU clouds, peer-to-peer marketplaces and networks of consumer PCs, so read each provider's terms, reliability record and data policy more carefully than you would a hyperscaler's.
Is Vast.ai cheaper than Runpod for an RTX 4090?
Vast.ai's cheapest RTX 4090 listing is close to Runpod Community Cloud's price, but its typical listing costs more. On 16 October Vast's public offer search showed the cheapest single card at $0.36 on demand, a median of $0.53 across its listings and interruptible bids from $0.27 7, while Runpod listed $0.34 on Community Cloud, out of stock on GetDeploying that day, and $0.89 on Secure Cloud 11 21. Vast's rate covers the GPU and the host's CPU and RAM share, and storage and bandwidth come on top at each host's rate, with storage billed even while the instance is stopped. Runpod charges no egress but bills volumes at $0.10 per GB-month running and $0.20 idle. With a large model library kept all month, the storage line usually decides the comparison rather than the GPU rate.
Is SaladCloud's RTX 4090 reliable enough for production?
SaladCloud's RTX 4090 is cheap because it runs on consumer PCs that their owners use, so a container can be moved off a machine at any time and no tier behaves like dedicated on-demand capacity. The prices are $0.330 at high priority, $0.273 at medium, $0.217 at low and $0.160 at the lowest batch tier, billed per second with vCPU and RAM included 9, unchanged since 12 September 2026 10. A higher-priority workload displaces a lower one, and there is no persistent disk, so model weights are pulled again on every new node. For batch image generation or transcription that retries failed items, it is one of the cheapest published hours. For a production endpoint, plan on at least two replicas, which doubles the bill to about $482 a month at high priority.
What does a $0.10 marketplace RTX 4090 actually include?
A marketplace RTX 4090 at about $0.10 an hour is a spot slot on one host, and what comes with it is whatever that host offers. Clore.ai's snapshot of 21 September 2026 showed the cheapest free spot server at $0.100 against a spot median of $0.365, with a 1.25 percent renter fee on spot and per-minute billing 8. Spot rentals are won by bid, so a higher bid can take the machine during a job, and the cheapest servers tend to give the card few CPU cores and little RAM. On Vast.ai the GPU rate excludes storage and bandwidth, which each host prices separately and bills while the instance exists 7. Benchmark the host for a few minutes and price the job, not the hour, before you commit a long run to it.
What is the difference between spot, interruptible and on-demand RTX 4090s?
An on-demand RTX 4090 stays yours until you stop it, while a spot or interruptible one can be taken back by the provider or by a higher bid. The discounts are large: GPUBank's interruptible tier costs $0.14 against $0.23 on demand, about 40 percent less, Novita lists spot at $0.17 against $0.33, and SaladCloud's lowest tier is about half its high tier 1 21 9. The terms of the interruption differ far more than the discounts. GPUBank gives five minutes of notice, runs your checkpoint hook, stops the machine rather than deleting it and credits the last 30 minutes if the notice is missed 1. On Vast.ai and Clore.ai a higher bid takes the machine, and SaladCloud treats every tier, including its high priority, as interruptible 7 8 9. Use interruptible capacity for batch jobs that checkpoint often, and on-demand or reserved capacity for anything a user is waiting on.
Can an RTX 4090 run a 70B language model?
A single RTX 4090 cannot run a 70B model properly, because the weights alone need about 40 GB at 4-bit precision and the card has 24 GB. Offloading most of the model to system RAM produces output, but the GPU then spends its time waiting on the PCIe bus. Two cards work: CloudRift served Llama 3.3 70B at 4-bit AWQ across two RTX 4090s with vLLM at 467 tokens per second under load, against 1,230 on two RTX 5090s and 1,031 on one 96 GB RTX PRO 6000 14. The 4090 has no NVLink, so the split pays a PCIe cost on every request. For a 70B model, a single card with enough memory is usually simpler and cheaper per token than a pair of 4090s. One 4090 is comfortable up to about 14B at 8-bit or 32B at 4-bit with a short context.
Is a rented RTX 4090 good enough for FLUX and SDXL?
A rented RTX 4090 handles SDXL easily and runs FLUX.1 dev well at FP8, which is the precision most ComfyUI workflows use on 24 GB. In ComfyUI's community benchmark of the standard FLUX dev FP8 template, a 4090 took 11.28 seconds an image, against 8.78 seconds on an RTX 5090 and 26 seconds on an RTX 3090 22. At GPUBank's $0.23 an hour, 1,000 FLUX images cost $0.72 on the 4090 and $1.17 on the 5090 at $0.48, so the older card is the cheaper one per image and the newer one the faster 1. The 4090's limit is memory: FLUX.1 dev in BF16, several ControlNets at once or large upscales can exceed 24 GB, and that is when a 32 GB or 48 GB card earns its higher price.
Should I rent an RTX 4090 or an RTX 5090?
Rent the RTX 4090 when the model fits in 24 GB and cost per result matters, and the RTX 5090 when you need its extra 8 GB, lower latency or FP4. On GPUBank the 4090 costs $0.23 and the 5090 $0.48, so the 5090 must be 2.1 times faster to match the 4090 per job 1. It is not on FLUX.1 dev at FP8, where it takes 8.78 seconds against 11.28, so 1,000 images cost $1.17 against $0.72 22. In llama.cpp single-user generation it reaches 300.40 tokens per second against 188.96, so a million tokens cost $0.44 against $0.34 23. In batched vLLM serving it doubles the throughput, 4,570 against 2,259 tokens per second, and the cost per token ends up about equal 14.
How much does it cost to run an RTX 4090 in the cloud for a month?
A full 730-hour month of one RTX 4090 costs about $105 to $650 depending on the provider and the terms. On GPUBank it costs $167.90 at the on-demand rate, $131.40 reserved for the month, or about $104.94 of real money when paid from a $1,000 top-up credited as $1,600, with a persistent disk adding $0.03 per GB-month 1. CloudRift's one-month reservation comes to $255.50 with local storage included, Runpod Community at $0.34 to $248.20 plus volume storage, and Vast.ai's cheapest $0.36 listing to $262.80 before host storage and bandwidth 13 11 7. SaladCloud's high tier is $240.90 a node, but an always-on service needs a second replica because its nodes can be reclaimed 9. Fixed datacenter-style offers cost far more: Oblivus at $0.64 comes to $467.20 and Runpod Secure Cloud at $0.89 to $649.70 21 11.
Is it cheaper to buy a used RTX 4090 than to rent one?
Buying a used RTX 4090 is cheaper than renting only if the card works almost around the clock. Used cards were valued at $2,214 on 6 October 2026 by GetPCParts, sold for a median of €2,185 on eBay according to PCPrice.watch, and were listed at a median asking price of $2,999 on DealHunter 26 27 28. With $2,200 for the card, $1,200 for the machine, $1,400 of resale value after two years, a 0.6 kW draw and US power at 18.19 cents per kWh 29, owning costs $83.33 a month plus $0.11 per hour of use. That beats GPUBank's $0.23 list rate only past about 690 hours a month, and never beats the $0.18 reservation or the $0.17 effective rate from a $100 top-up 1.
Do I pay for a stopped RTX 4090 instance?
On most providers a stopped RTX 4090 instance keeps billing its storage. On GPUBank a stopped machine costs only its persistent disk at $0.03 per GB-month; compute, the IPv4 address and the local NVMe cost nothing until you start it again 1. Runpod bills an idle volume disk at $0.20 per GB-month and a network volume at $0.07 under 1 TB 11. On Vast.ai the host's storage rate runs for as long as the instance exists, whether it is running or not, at about $0.20 per GB-month on the cheap listings we saw 7. SaladCloud has no persistent disk, so nothing is billed, but nothing is kept either. Read the stop and delete terms before you leave an instance parked for a week.
Can I fine-tune an 8B model with LoRA on a rented RTX 4090?
Yes, LoRA and QLoRA fine-tuning of an 8B model fits on one RTX 4090, and QLoRA reaches models of about 14B parameters within 24 GB. GPUBank positions its RTX 4090 for LoRA training on 8B models and provides Unsloth, Axolotl and Kohya templates as well as PyTorch 2.8 with CUDA 12.8 1. A full 16-bit fine-tune of an 8B model does not fit, because the weights, gradients and optimiser state together need several times the card's memory. Training across several 4090s works for data-parallel runs where each card holds the whole model, but it is slowed by the lack of NVLink once the model has to be split. For long runs, the interruptible tier at $0.14 is attractive if the trainer saves checkpoints regularly, since a reclaim then costs minutes.
Are community-cloud RTX 4090s safe for private data?
Community-cloud RTX 4090s run on machines owned by people you do not know, so treat them as unsuitable for regulated or confidential data. On Vast.ai, Clore.ai, Runpod Community Cloud and SaladCloud, independent hosts operate the hardware, and container isolation protects you from other tenants but not from the owner of the machine 7 8 9. Runpod sells its Secure Cloud, at $0.89 for this card, as the option in vetted datacenters 11. For public models, open datasets and creative work, community hosts are usually fine, and their low price is the point. For customer data, unreleased weights or work under contract, a managed offer whose operator runs its own regions is the cheaper choice once the risk is counted, even at a few cents more an hour.
Caveats and sources
Several figures could not be confirmed at source on 16 October 2026. Clore.ai's $0.10 spot floor, its $0.365 and $0.375 medians and its $0.40 to $0.94 bare-metal quotes come from Clore's own snapshot of 21 September, not from live listings. Vast.ai's figures come from its public offer search at one moment and move by the hour; its pricing page itself rendered no figure for us, and the $0.14 floor in our first survey and on Vast's CLI page was not in the live offers. Runpod's $0.34 Community rate is in the pricing page's structured data, while the visible card showed only the $0.89 Secure rate. Novita AI's stock, its spot and reserved rates, all Oblivus figures and Runpod Community's stock come from GetDeploying, which on 16 October also listed a Lium node at $0.62 that Lium's own page did not show. TensorDock's typical $0.35 sits on a page last updated in July 2024. io.net's explorer would not load, so its $0.25 rate was dropped, as were Hostinger, Shadeform, Sesterce, Akash and LeaderGPU, which we could not reread. packet.ai's page names two different regions. Whether GPUBank's bonus credit can pay for reservations is not stated. We found no checkable L40S result on the three benchmarks used here. Our first survey quoted the 2017 licence wording with a blockchain exception as current; the current clause 2.8 has none. The rent-or-buy arithmetic rests on stated assumptions for the machine cost, resale and power draw. The SDXL timings from Formula Mod and Spheron were read on 15 October and are vendor blog figures without full settings; Formula Mod's site did not answer on 16 October, so we could not reread it.
- 1GPUBank pricing · read Oct 16, 2026 — RTX 4090 rates, inclusions, billing, top-up bonuses, other cards
- 2GPUBank, GPU board and regions · read Oct 16, 2026 — RTX 4090 regions, median launch time
- 3NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4090 product page · read Oct 16, 2026 — CUDA cores, memory, bus, power
- 4Engadget, NVIDIA's $1,599 GeForce RTX 4090 arrives on October 12th · read Oct 16, 2026 — Launch date and price
- 5NVIDIA Driver License Agreement (v. 25 February 2025) · read Oct 16, 2026 — Clause 2.8, no datacenter deployment
- 6The Register, Nvidia: Using cheap GeForce, Titan GPUs in servers? Haha, nope! · read Oct 15, 2026 — Origin of the clause and NVIDIA's statement
- 7Vast.ai public offer search, RTX 4090 · read Oct 16, 2026 — Cheapest listing, median rate, bids, host storage rates, measured bandwidth
- 8Clore.ai, Rent RTX 4090 · read Oct 16, 2026 — 21 Sep 2026 snapshot, fees, billing, bare-metal quotes
- 9SaladCloud pricing · read Oct 16, 2026 — RTX 4090 at four priorities, inclusions, billing
- 10SaladCloud blog, price changes of 12 September 2026 · read Oct 15, 2026 — Date of the current rates
- 11Runpod pricing (updated 8 October 2026) · read Oct 16, 2026 — Secure and Community rates, storage, serverless
- 12Runpod, Is the RTX 4090 still worth it for AI in 2026? · read Oct 16, 2026 — End of life, street prices in 2026
- 13CloudRift pricing · read Oct 16, 2026 — On-demand and reserved rates, inclusions, no egress
- 14CloudRift, RTX 4090 vs 5090 vs PRO 6000: LLM inference benchmark · read Oct 16, 2026 — vLLM throughput, settings
- 15Beam pricing · read Oct 16, 2026 — On-demand machine, serverless rate, no egress
- 16Novita AI, RTX 4090 GPU instance · read Oct 16, 2026 — On-demand rate
- 17packet.ai, Rent RTX 4090 · read Oct 16, 2026 — Dedicated rate, billing, egress
- 18Spheron, RTX 4090 rental · read Oct 16, 2026 — Last known rate, minimum runtime, no capacity
- 19Lium, RTX 4090 · read Oct 16, 2026 — Reference price, no pod available
- 20TensorDock cloud GPUs · read Oct 16, 2026 — Typical rate and per-resource prices
- 21GetDeploying, RTX 4090 rental prices · read Oct 16, 2026 — Aggregator rates and stock, $0.47 median across twelve providers on 16 Oct
- 22ComfyUI discussion #9002, FLUX dev FP8 benchmark · read Oct 16, 2026 — Seconds per image on RTX 3090, 4090, 5090
- 23llama.cpp discussion #15013, performance on NVIDIA CUDA · read Oct 16, 2026 — Tokens per second, Llama 2 7B Q4_0
- 24Tom's Hardware, eBay historical GPU prices 2023 · read Oct 16, 2026 — eBay average sold prices, September and October 2023
- 25Wccftech, RTX 4090 sees massive price hike prior to RTX 5090 launch (8 Dec 2024) · read Oct 16, 2026 — Retail prices in December 2024
- 26GetPCParts, used RTX 4090 market price · read Oct 16, 2026 — Used values January to October 2026
- 27PCPrice.watch, RTX 4090 used price · read Oct 16, 2026 — eBay sold median over 90 days
- 28DealHunter, used RTX 4090 price · read Oct 16, 2026 — Median asking price, 15 Oct 2026
- 29EIA, Electric Power Monthly, table 5.3 · read Oct 15, 2026 — US residential electricity price
- 30Clore.ai blog, How to rent a GPU: complete beginner's guide · read Oct 15, 2026 — No charge for unexpected instance downtime
- 31NVIDIA blog, GeForce RTX 50 Series launch: FLUX.1 dev timings · read Oct 15, 2026 — FLUX.1 dev on the RTX 4090, about 15 s at FP16 and 10 s at FP8
- 32Formula Mod, Best GPU for Stable Diffusion and Flux in 2026 · read Oct 15, 2026 — SDXL 1024 px, 20 steps: about 3.2 s on RTX 4090, 2.2 s on RTX 5090
- 33Spheron, Best GPU for AI image generation 2026 · read Oct 15, 2026 — SDXL 1024 px, 20 steps: about 2.1 s on RTX 4090, 2.5 s on L40S
Compare the RTX 4090 side by side
Questions about renting the RTX 4090
How much does the RTX 4090 cost per hour?
Today the RTX 4090 rents from $0.13 per GPU-hour on-demand, with a median of $0.44 across 23 providers, each counted once at its cheapest current offer (38 current offers in all, readings of the last 45 days). Prices depend on the provider, the number of GPUs in the machine, the region and whether you rent on-demand, spot or reserved; true cost adds the mandatory add-ons each provider publishes.
Which cloud providers offer the RTX 4090?
31 providers have a current RTX 4090 offer in stock. Cheapest first: Clore Ai ($0.13), Vast Ai ($0.13), Gpubank ($0.23), Gcube ($0.25), Gpurento ($0.34), Tensordock ($0.35). Older readings from other providers stay listed on this page, in grey, and are never ranked.
How much memory does the RTX 4090 have?
24 GB of GDDR6X at 1.01 TB/s. At FP8 that fits all MiniLM L6 v2 (1 GB), paraphrase multilingual MiniLM L12 v2 (1 GB), bge-m3 (1 GB), Qwen3 0.6B (1 GB), all-mpnet-base-v2 (1 GB) on a single card; larger models need two to eight GPUs or a different card.
Where is the RTX 4090 cheapest right now?
The lowest true cost among eligible offers is $0.13 per GPU-hour at Vast.ai for a 1-GPU machine in US, read within the ranking window. Offers marked unavailable, older than 45 days, superseded by a newer reading, resold or outside the outlier band are listed but not ranked.
Is the RTX 4090 cheaper on spot or reserved?
Spot (interruptible) capacity starts at $0.12 per GPU-hour; reserved terms start at $0.18. Spot suits jobs that checkpoint; reserved suits machines that run all month.

