DigitalOcean
US developer cloud selling GPU Droplets (virtual machines with 1 or 8 NVIDIA or AMD GPUs) on demand, on spot and on 12-month contracts, plus contract-only Bare Metal GPUs.
Trust Score v0.1- Company & track record100
- Infrastructure control100
- Pricing & billing transparency85
- Reliability signals75
- Security & compliance53
- Customer signal—
Scored Sep 29, 2026 from the provider's own pages. Dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominator. Criteria ↓
Trust Score · 5 of 6 dimensions measuredThe score, criterion by criterion
Each point comes from something the provider publishes, with the page it was read on and the date. Anything not disclosed earns zero.
| Founding year published | 2012digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Headquarters published | DigitalOcean, LLCdigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Legal entity named | DigitalOcean, LLCdigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Funding or ownership disclosed | Investor Relations page linked from the site footer; listing details not read (investors.digitalocean.com returned a bot challenge)digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Capacity model published | operates or rents dedicated capacitydigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 10 / 10 |
| Regions published | 9 regions or countriesdigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Public prices without an account | yes (read on the pricing page)digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Billing granularity published | per seconddigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Egress policy published | metered: each GPU Droplet includes an outbound transfer allowance (10 TB on RTX/L40S, 15 TB on 1x H100/H200/MI/B300, 60 TB on 8x), pooled per team; overage 0.01 USD/GiB; inbound freedigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Stopped-instance billing published | Full rate. Powered-off GPU Droplets are billed until destroyed because GPU, CPU, RAM, disk and IP stay reserved.digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Public IPv4 policy published | not published for GPU Droplets (v5 CPU Droplets show a separate IPv4 line item at an introductory 0.00 USD)digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 3 |
| Status page | https://status.digitalocean.com/digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA published | 99% monthly uptime per GPU Droplet node; service credits 10% / 25% / 50%digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA with a numeric uptime commitment | 99% monthly uptime per GPU Droplet node; service credits 10% / 25% / 50%digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Uptime history published | not discloseddigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 5 |
| Observed availability (30 days) | not measured yet | — |
| SOC 2 | yes (report type not stated on the trust page)digitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 8 |
| ISO 27001 | not discloseddigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 4 |
| HIPAA or GDPR DPA | eligible to process HIPAA workloadsdigitalocean.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Aggregated public reviews | not collected yet | — |
What DigitalOcean charges, against the market
Cheapest current on-demand true cost here, next to the market median for the same GPU. Negative means cheaper than the market.
| GPU | Cheapest here | Market median | vs market | Current offers | Modes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H100 | $4.41 | $3.17 | +39% | 2 | reservedon-demand | H100 prices |
| H200 | $4.47 | $4.76 | −6% | 2 | reservedon-demand | H200 prices |
| L40S | $1.57 | $1.26 | +24% | 1 | on-demand | L40S prices |
| B300 | no on-demand | $8.96 | — | 2 | reservedspot | B300 prices |
| MI300X | $2.59 | $2.71 | −4% | 2 | reservedon-demand | MI300X prices |
| MI325X | $3.80 | $2.65 | +44% | 2 | reservedon-demand | MI325X prices |
| MI355X | no on-demand | $5.99 | — | 1 | spot | MI355X prices |
| MI350X | no on-demand | — | — | 2 | reservedspot | MI350X prices |
Every DigitalOcean offer, with its receipt
Current offers (last 45 days) ranked by true cost, all rental modes, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey.
| GPU | Configuration | Mode | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| L40S | 1× L40S | On-demand | — | Stock unknown | $1.57 | $1.57 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI300X12-month commitment | 1× MI300X | Reserved | — | Stock unknown | $1.91 | $1.91 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI300X | 1× MI300X | On-demand | — | Stock unknown | $2.59 | $2.59 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI325X12-month commitment | 1× MI325X | Reserved | — | Stock unknown | $2.88 | $2.88 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI350X | 1× MI350X | Spot | — | Stock unknown | $3.00 | $3.00 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM12-month commitment | 1× H100 SXM | Reserved | — | Stock unknown | $3.26 | $3.26 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H20012-month commitment | 1× H200 | Reserved | — | Stock unknown | $3.40 | $3.40 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI325X | 1× MI325X | On-demand | — | Stock unknown | $3.80 | $3.80 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM | 1× H100 SXM | On-demand | — | Stock unknown | $4.41 | $4.41 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H200 | 1× H200 | On-demand | — | Stock unknown | $4.47 | $4.47 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI355X | 1× MI355X | Spot | — | Stock unknown | $4.50 | $4.50 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI350X12-month commitment | 1× MI350X | Reserved | — | Stock unknown | $4.76 | $4.76 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| B300 | 1× B300 | Spot | — | Stock unknown | $6.17 | $6.17 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| B30012-month commitment | 1× B300 | Reserved | — | Stock unknown | $7.94 | $7.94 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
What the hourly price does not say
Billing granularity, minimums, what a stopped machine costs, traffic, addresses, deposits and identity checks, as published by the provider.
Billing
- Billing granularity
- per second
- Minimum charge
- Docs: 60 seconds or 0.01 USD, whichever is higher. The GPU pricing page FAQ instead says 'per second with a 5-minute minimum billing period' (sources disagree).
- Stopped instance
- Full rate. Powered-off GPU Droplets are billed until destroyed because GPU, CPU, RAM, disk and IP stay reserved.
- Egress
- metered: each GPU Droplet includes an outbound transfer allowance (10 TB on RTX/L40S, 15 TB on 1x H100/H200/MI/B300, 60 TB on 8x), pooled per team; overage 0.01 USD/GiB; inbound free
- Public IPv4
- not published for GPU Droplets (v5 CPU Droplets show a separate IPv4 line item at an introductory 0.00 USD)
- Billing model
- both
- Minimum deposit
- None for cards (postpaid monthly; auto-charge when the balance reaches the tier threshold, 25 USD at Tier 1). PayPal: 5 USD authorization. Crypto: one-time 25 USD authorization credited to future charges. Optional prepayment tiers of 50 / 250 / 1,000 / 4,000 USD raise limits.
- Free credits
- 5 USD signup credit, valid 90 days, payment method required
Account
- Payment
- card · PayPal · crypto (yes: stablecoins from over 400 wallets (coins and chains not named); access limited and not available to all customers in all locations; one-time 25 USD authorization credited)
- Sign-up
- email, payment method before creating any resource (card with pre-authorization, PayPal with 5 USD authorization, Google Pay, Apple Pay, Alipay, Link, crypto wallet with 25 USD authorization, or ACH)
- Identity check
- card verification
- Support
- ticket, email, live chat (Standard and Premium), Slack (Premium), video calls (Premium)
- Enterprise support
- not published
- SLA
- 99% monthly uptime per GPU Droplet node; service credits 10% / 25% / 50%
- Status page
- status.digitalocean.com ↗
- Published uptime
- not published
Infrastructure
- Regions
9 named regions in 3 countries
NYC2 (United States) · NYC3 (United States) · TOR1 (Canada) · AMS3 (Netherlands) · ATL1 (United States) · RIC1 (United States) · MKC1 (United States) · MEM1 (United States) · SFO3 (United States)- Countries
- United States, Canada, Netherlands
- Platform
- API, CLI, serverless, SSH, custom Docker images, persistent volumes, spot or interruptible, bare metalTerraform: officialKubernetes: managedInterconnect: 8x H100 support NVIDIA Fabric Manager (NVLink); L40S has no NVLink; 25 Gbps private / 10 Gbps public per Droplet; multi-node 'fabric-contracted' slugs with fabric type not publishedClusters: Multi-node GPU Droplets require support to enable them for the team; multi-node fabric plans by contract only; Bare Metal GPUs can run in multi-node clusters (contract)
- Storage
- ephemeral · included · Per-Droplet NVMe boot disk (500 GiB to 2,046 GiB, persists for the Droplet's life) and, on H100/H200/MI-series/B300, a non-persistent NVMe scratch disk (5 TiB on 1x, 40 TiB on 8x)volume · 0.10 USD/GiB-month · Volumes Block Storage, 1 GiB to 16 TiB, charged hourly while the volume exists, attached or not
- Migration out
- Data lives on the Droplet boot disk, detachable Volumes or Spaces object storage; images are standard Linux VMs so Docker images and code move unchanged. Scratch disks are non-persistent. Egress beyond the allowance costs 0.01 USD/GiB.
Security & compliance
- SOC 2
- yes (report type not stated on the trust page)
- ISO 27001
- not published
- HIPAA
- eligible to process HIPAA workloads
- GDPR / DPA
- not published
- Other
- SOC 3 and Global PRP certifications; eligibility to process DORA workloads
- Legal entity
- DigitalOcean, LLC
- Funding
- Investor Relations page linked from the site footer; listing details not read (investors.digitalocean.com returned a bot challenge)
DigitalOcean, in short
What stood out when we read the documents: strengths, weaknesses, who it suits, and what we could not find.
Strengths
- Per-GPU prices for on-demand, spot and 12-month reserved plans published on one page, with per-Droplet 8x prices in the docs
- Broad AMD line-up: MI300X and MI325X on demand, MI350X and MI355X on spot, MI300X reserved at 1.91 USD/GPU-h
- Self-serve spot B300 at 8.00 USD/GPU-h and spot MI355X at 2.97 USD/GPU-h (public preview)
- Generous inclusions: vCPU, RAM, NVMe boot disk, 5 TiB scratch per GPU and 15 TB transfer per GPU on H100/H200
- Integrated platform: managed Kubernetes with GPU nodes, Volumes, Spaces, official Terraform provider, doctl CLI
- Published GPU Droplet SLA (99%) with service credits; SOC 2, SOC 3, HIPAA eligibility
- Wide payment choice: cards, PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay, Alipay, Link, ACH, stablecoin wallets
Weaknesses
- On-demand H100 at 4.41 USD/GPU-h and H200 at 4.47 USD/GPU-h
- Powered-off GPU Droplets are billed at full rate until destroyed
- GPU Droplets cannot be resized
- Egress above the included allowance metered at 0.01 USD/GiB
- Crypto payment has limited availability and covers stablecoins only
- Bare Metal GPU prices and B300/MI350X contract terms not published; multi-node needs support or sales
- GPU SLA is 99%, with credits capped at 50%
- Minimum billing stated inconsistently (5 minutes on the pricing page, 60 seconds in docs)
Ideal for
- Teams already on DigitalOcean that want GPUs next to Kubernetes, databases and object storage
- AMD Instinct users (MI300X through MI355X)
- Buyers who need invoices, SOC 2 or HIPAA eligibility and card or PayPal payment
Not published
- Company HQ and listing details: investors.digitalocean.com blocked the browser and the about page does not state HQ
- Which on-demand plan corresponds to the 11.19 USD per GPU/hour figure in the product FAQ
- Whether 12-month reserved prices apply to 1x, 8x or both configurations
- Bare Metal GPU prices and contract terms (sales only)
- IPv4 charge for GPU Droplets not stated
- Snapshot support and pricing for GPU Droplets not verified
- SOC 2 report type, ISO 27001 status and GDPR DPA not read on primary pages
- Crypto: which stablecoins and chains are accepted
- Official SDKs not verified on a captured page
- MI325X on-demand availability: priced as on-demand, but the availability doc places MI325X only under contract plans
Observations
Per-GPU-hour prices visible without an account for reserved, spot and on-demand plans
Banner: 'New pricing is effective as of August 1, 2026'
Product page FAQ quotes on-demand up to 11.19 USD per GPU/hour, a figure not matched by any listed plan
8x on-demand prices appear only in the docs; the pricing page shows per-GPU prices with a 1-or-8 selector
Bare metal page is a sales form with specs only
Pages read
- digitalocean.com/pricing/gpu-droplets — On-demand, spot and 12-month reserved per-GPU prices, billing FAQ, payment FAQ
- digitalocean.com/products/gpu-droplets — Specs table, datacenters, FAQ (99% SLA, price range
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/details/pricing/ — 1x and 8x per-Droplet prices, spot prices, minimum charge, powered-off billing, bandwidth overage
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/details/features/ — GPU Droplet slugs and configurations, spot and contract configs, multi-node fabric slugs
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/details/gpu-availability/ — Datacenters per GPU model and mode
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/details/spot-gpu-capacity/ — Current spot capacity
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/concepts/spot-vs-on-demand/ — Spot reclamation and pricing rules
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/details/limits/ — No resize, network limits, multi-node enablement, NVLink note
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/bare-metal-gpus/details/pricing/ — Contract billing, payment via Paperspace
- digitalocean.com/products/bare-metal-gpus — Bare metal configurations
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/volumes/details/pricing/ — Block storage price
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/bandwidth/ — Transfer pooling and overage
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/pay-bills/ — Monthly billing, prepayment tiers, card brands
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/manage-payment-methods/ — Payment methods incl. stablecoin wallets, PayPal 5 USD and crypto 25 USD authorizations
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/signup-credit/ — 5 USD credit for 90 days
- docs.digitalocean.com/support/why-do-i-need-to-enter-a-payment-method/ — Identity verification via payment information
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/regional-availability/ — Datacenter list and cities
- digitalocean.com/sla/gpu-droplets — 99% uptime, service credits
- digitalocean.com/trust — SOC 2, SOC 3, HIPAA, DORA, Global PRP
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/support-plans/ — Support tiers and prices
- docs.digitalocean.com/reference/terraform/ — Terraform provider
- docs.digitalocean.com/reference/doctl/ — CLI
- docs.digitalocean.com/products/kubernetes/details/features/ — GPU worker nodes in DOKS
- docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/ — Billing cycle, Serverless Inference prepayment
- digitalocean.com/about — Founded 2012
- status.digitalocean.com/ — Status page
- sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1582961/000158296126000019/docn-20251231.htm — Headquarters
Questions about DigitalOcean
What GPUs does DigitalOcean offer?
DigitalOcean has 10 GPU types with a fresh offer today, for example H100 from $4.41, H200 from $4.47, L40S from $1.57, MI300X from $2.59, MI325X from $3.80 per GPU-hour on-demand. The full list with prices and market medians is on this page.
How does DigitalOcean bill?
Billing granularity: per second. Minimum charge: Docs: 60 seconds or 0.01 USD, whichever is higher. The GPU pricing page FAQ instead says 'per second with a 5-minute minimum billing period' (sources disagree). Stopped instance: Full rate. Powered-off GPU Droplets are billed until destroyed because GPU, CPU, RAM, disk and IP stay reserved.
How trustworthy is DigitalOcean?
Its Trust Score is 82/100 (v0.1), read from its own documents. Strong on company & track record, infrastructure control. Weaker on security & compliance. The score measures transparency and published guarantees, not customer satisfaction; every criterion and its source is listed above.
Where are DigitalOcean's data centres?
9 named regions in 3 countries: United States, Canada, Netherlands.
How do you pay DigitalOcean, and are there credits?
Payment by card, crypto. Free credits: 5 USD signup credit, valid 90 days, payment method required. Identity check: card verification.
