Thunder Compute
US developer GPU cloud that virtualizes network-attached GPUs to sell low-price RTX A6000, L40, A100 and H100 instances billed per minute, plus per-second H100 sandboxes.
Trust Score v0.1- Company & track record100
- Infrastructure control100
- Pricing & billing transparency100
- Reliability signals55
- Security & compliance20
- Customer signal—
Scored Sep 29, 2026 from the provider's own pages. Dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominator. Criteria ↓
Outbound link carries a commission. It does not affect this page.
Trust Score · 5 of 6 dimensions measuredThe score, criterion by criterion
Each point comes from something the provider publishes, with the page it was read on and the date. Anything not disclosed earns zero.
| Founding year published | 2024thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Headquarters published | Thunder GPU, Inc.thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Legal entity named | Thunder GPU, Inc.thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Funding or ownership disclosed | 13M USD Series A led by Matrix Partners with Y Combinator and CEAS Investments (Aug 2026); research started 2022thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Capacity model published | operates or rents dedicated capacitythundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 10 / 10 |
| Regions published | 1 regions or countriesthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Public prices without an account | yes (read on the pricing page)thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Billing granularity published | mixedthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Egress policy published | included (no egress fees)thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Stopped-instance billing published | No stop function: instances bill per minute from creation until deletion; to pause, snapshot (0.05 USD/GB-month) and deletethundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Public IPv4 policy published | dynamic IP addressthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Status page | https://status.thundercompute.comthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA published | not disclosedthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 6 |
| SLA with a numeric uptime commitment | not disclosedthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 3 |
| Uptime history published | Status page Jul-Sep 2026: Website, API, Instances 100%thundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Observed availability (30 days) | not measured yet | — |
| SOC 2 | not disclosedthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 8 |
| ISO 27001 | not disclosedthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 4 |
| HIPAA or GDPR DPA | Data processing addendum publishedthundercompute.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Aggregated public reviews | not collected yet | — |
What Thunder Compute charges, against the market
Cheapest current on-demand true cost here, next to the market median for the same GPU. Negative means cheaper than the market.
| GPU | Cheapest here | Market median | vs market | Current offers | Modes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H100 | $3.20 | $3.17 | +1% | 5 | on-demandserverless | H100 prices |
| A100 80GB | $1.09 | $1.92 | −43% | 5 | on-demandserverless | A100 80GB prices |
| RTX A6000 | $0.35 | $0.54 | −35% | 1 | on-demand | RTX A6000 prices |
| L40 | $0.79 | $0.88 | −11% | 4 | on-demand | L40 prices |
Every Thunder Compute offer, with its receipt
Current offers (last 45 days) ranked by true cost, all rental modes, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey.
| GPU | Configuration | Mode | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RTX A6000 | 1× RTX A6000 | On-demand | — | In stock | $0.35 | $0.35 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40 | 1× L40 | On-demand | — | In stock | $0.79 | $0.79 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40 | 2× L40 | On-demand | — | In stock | $0.79 | $0.79 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40 | 4× L40 | On-demand | — | In stock | $0.99 | $0.99 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40 | 8× L40 | On-demand | — | Unavailable | $0.99 | $0.99 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| A100 80GB | 1× A100 80GB | On-demand | — | In stock | $1.09 | $1.09 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| A100 80GB | 2× A100 80GB | On-demand | — | In stock | $1.09 | $1.09 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| A100 80GB | 4× A100 80GB | On-demand | — | In stock | $1.49 | $1.49 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| A100 80GB | 8× A100 80GB | On-demand | — | In stock | $1.49 | $1.49 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| A100 80GB | 1× A100 80GB | Serverless | — | Stock unknown | $1.95 | $1.95 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM | 1× H100 SXM | Serverless | — | Stock unknown | $2.95 | $2.95 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM | 1× H100 SXM | On-demand | — | Unavailable | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM | 2× H100 SXM | On-demand | — | Unavailable | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM | 4× H100 SXM | On-demand | — | Unavailable | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXM | 8× H100 SXM | On-demand | — | Unavailable | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
What the hourly price does not say
Billing granularity, minimums, what a stopped machine costs, traffic, addresses, deposits and identity checks, as published by the provider.
Billing
- Billing granularity
- mixed
- Minimum charge
- not published
- Stopped instance
- No stop function: instances bill per minute from creation until deletion; to pause, snapshot (0.05 USD/GB-month) and delete
- Egress
- included (no egress fees)
- Public IPv4
- dynamic IP address
- Billing model
- both
- Minimum deposit
- not published
- Free credits
- Referral 3% of referee spend; student credits (terms on page not captured)
Account
- Payment
- card
- Sign-up
- email, card or preloaded credit, VAT ID (business only) in 27 listed countries
- Identity check
- card verification
- Support
- discord, email ([email protected])
- Enterprise support
- not published
- SLA
- not published
- Status page
- status.thundercompute.com ↗
- Published uptime
- Status page Jul-Sep 2026: Website, API, Instances 100%
Infrastructure
- Regions
1 named regions in 1 countries
North America (United States)- Countries
- United States
- Platform
- API, CLI, serverless, Jupyter, SSH, custom Docker images, persistent volumes, snapshotsKubernetes: noInterconnect: Network-attached virtualized GPUs; 7 Gbps instance egress/ingressClusters: Reserved clusters of 8 to 512+ GPUs via sales
- Storage
- volume · 0.219 USD/GB-month · Instance disk beyond the first 100 GB per GPU (included)volume · 0.05 USD/GB-month · Snapshots of instance disks, kept until deletedephemeral · 0.0876 USD/GB-month (0.00012 USD/GB-hr) · Sandbox disk, wiped when sandbox ends
- Migration out
- Instance disks can be snapshotted but snapshots stay on Thunder; data leaves over SSH/SCP with no egress fee. Standard Linux, Docker supported, so workloads port easily to any VM provider.
Security & compliance
- SOC 2
- not published
- ISO 27001
- not published
- HIPAA
- not published
- GDPR / DPA
- Data processing addendum published
- Other
- Sub-processors: Azure (US, primarily Western US), Stripe, Firebase, PostHog, Cloudflare
- Legal entity
- Thunder GPU, Inc.
- Funding
- 13M USD Series A led by Matrix Partners with Y Combinator and CEAS Investments (Aug 2026); research started 2022
Thunder Compute, in short
What stood out when we read the documents: strengths, weaknesses, who it suits, and what we could not find.
Strengths
- A100 80GB at 1.09 USD/GPU-hr and RTX A6000 at 0.35 USD/GPU-hr on demand
- No egress fees
- 100 GB disk per GPU included; snapshots at 0.05 USD/GB-month
- VS Code extension, CLI (tnr), REST API and MCP server for AI agents
- Per-second H100 sandboxes with TTL for agent workloads
- Credit alerts and prepaid credit that never expires
Weaknesses
- GPUs are network-attached through Thunder's virtualization layer; docs list incompatibilities (managed memory/UVM, CUDA MPS, FFmpeg GPU acceleration, GPU profilers)
- Only four GPU models; no B200, H200, MI300X or consumer RTX cards
- H100 SXM on demand at 3.20 USD/GPU-hr
- No stop state: instances bill until deleted
- North America only; not available in 18 countries and business-only in 27 more
- No SLA and no SOC 2 or ISO report published; credit is non-refundable
Ideal for
- Individual developers and students prototyping on A100 or A6000 at low hourly cost
- Teams working from VS Code or AI coding agents who want one-click GPU environments
- Short agent jobs using per-second H100 sandboxes
Not published
- A100 80GB form factor not published
- Reserved prices and term length (contact sales)
- Exact data center locations (docs: North America
- sub-processors: Azure primarily Western US
- FAQ: 'under the hood they are EC2 instances')
- Preloaded credit payment rails (only card/Mastercard documented)
- Base vCPU included per GPU and extra vCPU price only implied by calculator
- Founding year and HQ city not stated
Observations
Pricing page shows per-GPU-hour prices without account, with 1x/2x/4x/8x tabs and a cost calculator
Page compares its A100 price to Runpod, CoreWeave, Lambda, AWS and others (checked Sep 28, 2026)
Calculator implies extra vCPU at 0.04 USD/vCPU-hr (4 extra vCPUs = 0.16 USD/hr) and extra disk at 0.0003 USD/GB-hr
Pages read
- thundercompute.com/pricing — Instance, sandbox, storage, reserved prices, FAQ (per-minute billing, egress
- thundercompute.com/docs/billing.md — Auto-pay card, preload credit, threshold charges, non-refundable credit
- thundercompute.com/docs/restrictions.md — Country restrictions, VAT ID, one account per user, crypto mining ban
- thundercompute.com/docs/technical-specs.md — Location, disk, network, dynamic IP
- thundercompute.com/docs/guides/stopping-instances.md — No native stop
- thundercompute.com/docs/compatibility.md — Known incompatibilities
- thundercompute.com/docs/faq/faq.md — Network-attached GPU pool, EC2 statement
- thundercompute.com/terms-and-conditions — Legal entity, Delaware, payment, no uptime guarantee
- thundercompute.com/sub-processors — Azure, Stripe
- thundercompute.com/products/instances — Snapshots, restore time
- thundercompute.com/ — Series A funding
- thundercompute.com/mission — Research start 2022, GPU virtualization
- status.thundercompute.com — Uptime
Providers people compare with it
Questions about Thunder Compute
What GPUs does Thunder Compute offer?
Thunder Compute has 4 GPU types with a fresh offer today, for example H100 from $3.20, A100 80GB from $1.09, RTX A6000 from $0.35, L40 from $0.79 per GPU-hour on-demand. The full list with prices and market medians is on this page.
How does Thunder Compute bill?
Billing granularity: mixed. Stopped instance: No stop function: instances bill per minute from creation until deletion; to pause, snapshot (0.05 USD/GB-month) and delete
How trustworthy is Thunder Compute?
Its Trust Score is 75/100 (v0.1), read from its own documents. Strong on company & track record, infrastructure control, pricing & billing transparency. Weaker on reliability signals, security & compliance. The score measures transparency and published guarantees, not customer satisfaction; every criterion and its source is listed above.
Where are Thunder Compute's data centres?
1 named regions in 1 countries: United States.
How do you pay Thunder Compute, and are there credits?
Payment by card. Free credits: Referral 3% of referee spend; student credits (terms on page not captured). Identity check: card verification.
