Hetzner
German hosting company renting single-GPU dedicated servers (GEX45 with RTX PRO 4000 Blackwell SFF, GEX131 with RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q) in Germany and Finland, billed hourly with a monthly cap plus a one-time setup fee.
Trust Score v0.1- Company & track record100
- Infrastructure control100
- Pricing & billing transparency100
- Reliability signals30
- Security & compliance47
- Customer signal—
Scored Sep 29, 2026 from the provider's own pages. Dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominator. Criteria ↓
Trust Score · 5 of 6 dimensions measuredThe score, criterion by criterion
Each point comes from something the provider publishes, with the page it was read on and the date. Anything not disclosed earns zero.
| Founding year published | 1997hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Headquarters published | Hetzner Online GmbHhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Legal entity named | Hetzner Online GmbHhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Funding or ownership disclosed | Private GmbH registered at Ansbach Registration Office, HRB 6089; managing directors Martin Hetzner, Stephan Konvickova, Guenther Mueller. No external funding disclosed.hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Capacity model published | operates or rents dedicated capacityhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 10 / 10 |
| Regions published | 3 regions or countrieshetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Public prices without an account | yes (read on the pricing page)hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Billing granularity published | per started hour, capped at the monthly pricehetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Egress policy published | included: unlimited traffic on the 1 Gbit/s port; with the 10 Gbit uplink add-on (43 EUR/month) only 20 TB/month included, then charged per TB (rate not rendered in the capture)hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Stopped-instance billing published | Billed in full while the server exists on the account, even if turned off or unused; charges stop only after cancellation (effective immediately).hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Public IPv4 policy published | extra: primary IPv4 1.70 EUR/month (0.0027 EUR/h), included in the displayed GEX45 and GEX131 prices; can be deselected only with the rescue system (IPv6-only server)hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Status page | https://status.hetzner.com/hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA published | not disclosedhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 6 |
| SLA with a numeric uptime commitment | not disclosedhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 3 |
| Uptime history published | not disclosedhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 5 |
| Observed availability (30 days) | not measured yet | — |
| SOC 2 | not disclosedhetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 8 |
| ISO 27001 | DIN ISO/IEC 27001:2022, Hetzner Online GmbH and Hetzner Finland Oy, data center parks Nuremberg, Falkenstein, Helsinki (certifier SOCOTEC)hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| HIPAA or GDPR DPA | Optional DPA under Art. 28 GDPR (stated on GEX product pages)hetzner.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Aggregated public reviews | not collected yet | — |
What Hetzner charges, against the market
Cheapest current on-demand true cost here, next to the market median for the same GPU. Negative means cheaper than the market.
| GPU | Cheapest here | Market median | vs market | Current offers | Modes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RTX PRO 6000 | $1.61 | $2.14 | −25% | 6 | on-demandreserved | RTX PRO 6000 prices |
| RTX PRO 4000 | $0.38 | $0.27 | +42% | 2 | on-demandreserved | RTX PRO 4000 prices |
| RTX 4000 SFF Ada | $0.42 | — | — | 2 | on-demandreserved | RTX 4000 SFF Ada prices |
Every Hetzner offer, with its receipt
Current offers (last 45 days) ranked by true cost, all rental modes, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey.
| GPU | Configuration | Mode | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RTX PRO 40001-month commitment | 1× RTX PRO 400020 vCPU · 64 GB RAM · 1,024 GB disk | Reserved | Finland | Stock unknown | $0.33 | $0.33 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX 4000 SFF Ada1-month commitment | 1× RTX 4000 SFF Ada64 GB RAM · 3,840 GB disk | Reserved | Germany | In stock | $0.36 | $0.36 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 4000 | 1× RTX PRO 400020 vCPU · 64 GB RAM · 1,024 GB disk | On-demand | Finland | Stock unknown | $0.38 | $0.38 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX 4000 SFF Ada | 1× RTX 4000 SFF Ada64 GB RAM · 3,840 GB disk | On-demand | Germany | In stock | $0.42 | $0.42 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 60001-month commitment | 4× RTX PRO 600048 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 3,840 GB disk | Reserved | Finland | Stock unknown | $1.38 | $1.38 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 60001-month commitment | 1× RTX PRO 600020 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 3,840 GB disk | Reserved | Finland | Stock unknown | $1.53 | $1.53 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 6000 | 4× RTX PRO 600048 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 3,840 GB disk | On-demand | Finland | Stock unknown | $1.61 | $1.61 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 6000 | 1× RTX PRO 600020 vCPU · 128 GB RAM · 3,840 GB disk | On-demand | Finland | Stock unknown | $1.79 | $1.79 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 60001-month commitment | 1× RTX PRO 600048 vCPU · 256 GB RAM | Reserved | Finland · Germany | Stock unknown | $2.29 | $2.29 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| RTX PRO 6000 | 1× RTX PRO 600048 vCPU · 256 GB RAM | On-demand | Finland · Germany | Stock unknown | $2.68 | $2.68 | 21:10 UTCfresh | Receipt |
What the hourly price does not say
Billing granularity, minimums, what a stopped machine costs, traffic, addresses, deposits and identity checks, as published by the provider.
Billing
- Billing granularity
- per started hour, capped at the monthly price
- Minimum charge
- One full hour (partial hours rounded up) plus the one-time setup fee (209 EUR GEX45; 599, 899, 1149 EUR GEX131-1, -2, -3). Server Auction servers have no setup fee.
- Stopped instance
- Billed in full while the server exists on the account, even if turned off or unused; charges stop only after cancellation (effective immediately).
- Egress
- included: unlimited traffic on the 1 Gbit/s port; with the 10 Gbit uplink add-on (43 EUR/month) only 20 TB/month included, then charged per TB (rate not rendered in the capture)
- Public IPv4
- extra: primary IPv4 1.70 EUR/month (0.0027 EUR/h), included in the displayed GEX45 and GEX131 prices; can be deselected only with the rescue system (IPv6-only server)
- Billing model
- postpaid invoice (monthly, retroactive); optional credit top-up by credit card
- Minimum deposit
- not published
- Free credits
- No free trial ('you cannot try out products before purchasing them'); Hetzner credits offered for community tutorials
Account
- Payment
- card · invoice · PayPal
- Sign-up
- email, password, contact details, billing address, government ID or credit-card prepayment when requested by the fraud check
- Identity check
- ID on request
- Support
- phone, email, support requests in the account
- Enterprise support
- not published
- SLA
- No GPU or server SLA; product pages state 'Network availability min. 99.9%' and T&C 3.3 commits to economically reasonable efforts toward 99.9% annual average network availability
- Status page
- status.hetzner.com ↗
- Published uptime
- not published
Infrastructure
- Regions
3 named regions in 2 countries
FSN1 (Germany) · NBG1 (Germany) · HEL1 (Finland)- Countries
- Germany, Finland
- Platform
- API, SSH, bare metalSDK: Robot Webservice REST API (includes server ordering); PHP client from Hetzner; Perl, Python, Ruby, Rust libraries are community projectsKubernetes: no
- Storage
- ephemeral · included · Local NVMe in the server (2x 512 GB GEX45; 2x 960 GB up to 4x 3.84 TB GEX131). Extra drives are monthly add-ons, e.g. 3.84 TB NVMe DC 96 EUR/month, 7.68 TB 170 EUR/month (excl. VAT), availability depends on model.
- Migration out
- Bare-metal servers with local disks: data is copied off with standard tools (rsync, scp) before cancellation; no snapshot or image export for dedicated servers is documented on the pages read.
Security & compliance
- SOC 2
- not published
- ISO 27001
- DIN ISO/IEC 27001:2022, Hetzner Online GmbH and Hetzner Finland Oy, data center parks Nuremberg, Falkenstein, Helsinki (certifier SOCOTEC)
- HIPAA
- not published
- GDPR / DPA
- Optional DPA under Art. 28 GDPR (stated on GEX product pages)
- Other
- Terms prohibit cryptocurrency mining (T&C 8.3)
- Legal entity
- Hetzner Online GmbH
- Funding
- Private GmbH registered at Ansbach Registration Office, HRB 6089; managing directors Martin Hetzner, Stephan Konvickova, Guenther Mueller. No external funding disclosed.
Hetzner, in short
What stood out when we read the documents: strengths, weaknesses, who it suits, and what we could not find.
Strengths
- RTX PRO 6000 Blackwell Max-Q (96 GB) at 1199 EUR/month incl. IPv4 (1.91 USD/GPU-h at full-month use), with a 24-core Xeon, 256 GB DDR5 and 2x 960 GB NVMe included
- Hourly billing capped at the monthly price, no minimum term, cancellation effective immediately
- Unlimited traffic on the 1 Gbit/s port and a dedicated IPv4 in the displayed price
- Own data centers in Germany and Finland, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified, GDPR DPA available
- Server Auction lists older GPU servers (GTX 1080, RTX 4000 SFF Ada, RTX 6000 Ada) with no setup fee, from 76 EUR/month
Weaknesses
- One GPU per server; FAQ states GEX servers cannot be configured with multiple GPUs; no H100, H200, B200 or AMD GPUs
- One-time setup fee of 209 to 1149 EUR makes short rentals expensive
- Hourly rate is well above monthly/720 (GEX131-1: 1.9215 EUR/h against 1.665 EUR/h at full-month use)
- Fraud checks: first-time high-value orders may be held or rejected; ID or credit-card prepayment can be requested
- No crypto payment; postpaid invoices; account currency fixed at creation
- No GPU platform layer: no containers, templates, notebooks, serverless or managed Kubernetes for GPU servers
- 1 Gbit/s network by default; 10 Gbit uplink is a 43 EUR/month add-on with a 20 TB traffic allowance
Ideal for
- EU teams wanting a single-GPU dedicated server for inference, fine-tuning or rendering by the month with full root access
- Customers who need hosting in Germany or Finland under GDPR with invoice or SEPA payment
Not published
- Per-TB overage price for the 10 Gbit uplink add-on (value blank in the captured page text)
- VRAM of Server Auction GPUs is not stated in the listings
- Exact data center availability of GEX45 and GEX131 (official pages disagree)
- No official Terraform provider or CLI for dedicated servers found on the pages read (hcloud tooling covers Hetzner Cloud, which has no GPUs)
- Server Auction data is a live snapshot of 2026-09-29
- Setup fees, hourly and monthly prices were read from the price API
- the GEX131-2 and -3 prices are shown only in the configurator after rendering
Observations
Prices are visible without an account: per server per month (monthly cap), per hour and one-time setup fee, labelled 'excl. VAT', with an EUR / VAT 0% selector in the header
GEX131 card reads 'starting from' and '3 Types'; the three server types (RAM/disk tiers) are priced only in the configurator
Prices are filled in by JavaScript from website-price-api.hetzner.com; the page text has no numbers until rendered
Location data is inconsistent: GEX131 product page and configurator show HEL1 and FSN1, the FAQ says NBG1 and FSN1; GEX45 product page and FAQ show HEL1 only while the price API lists FSN1, HEL1 and NBG1
FAQ answers 'Does Hetzner also offer GPU servers with NVIDIA H100?' by pointing to a feedback form
Primary IPv4 is a separate configurator line (1.70 EUR/month) although the headline price includes it
Cookie wall and geo-location banner on first visit; AI chat widget on the page
Pages read
- hetzner.com/dedicated-rootserver/matrix-gpu/ — catalogue, FAQ (locations, no H100, single GPU
- hetzner.com/dedicated-rootserver/gex45/ — specs, price (rendered screenshot), terms, payment methods
- hetzner.com/dedicated-rootserver/gex131/ — specs, price (rendered screenshot), locations, terms, support
- hetzner.com/dedicated-rootserver/gex131/configurator/ — server types GEX131-1/-2/-3, IPv4 line, 10G uplink
- website-price-api.hetzner.com/api/v1/products/ROBOT_1768%2BROBOT_1266 — GEX45 monthly, hourly, setup
- website-price-api.hetzner.com/api/v1/products/ROBOT_1747%2BROBOT_1266 — GEX131-1 prices
- website-price-api.hetzner.com/api/v1/products/ROBOT_1748 — GEX131-2 prices
- website-price-api.hetzner.com/api/v1/products/ROBOT_1749 — GEX131-3 prices
- website-price-api.hetzner.com/api/v1/products/ROBOT_1266 — IPv4 price
- website-price-api.hetzner.com/api/v1/products/ROBOT_1338 — uplink add-on price
- hetzner.com/_resources/app/data/app/live_data_sb.json — auction GPU servers and prices
- docs.hetzner.com/general/others/new-billing-model/ — hourly billing, monthly cap, rounding, postpaid
- docs.hetzner.com/general/billing-and-account-management/billing-at-hetzner/payment-overview/ — payment methods, no crypto, currencies, credit
- docs.hetzner.com/general/billing-and-account-management/billing-at-hetzner/value-added-tax/ — VAT on net prices
- docs.hetzner.com/robot/dedicated-server/dedicated-server-hardware/price-server-addons/ — storage, network, support add-on prices
- docs.hetzner.com/general/infrastructure-and-availability/hetzner-pricing-structure-explained/ — setup fee rationale, no discounts
- docs.hetzner.com/general/security-and-identify/fraud-prevention-faq/ — ID or prepayment verification, order checks
- docs.hetzner.com/general/billing-and-account-management/account-getting-started/ — sign-up requirements
- hetzner.com/legal/terms-and-conditions/ — 99.9% network availability, crypto mining ban
- hetzner.com/unternehmen/zertifizierung/ — ISO/IEC 27001:2022
- hetzner.com/legal/legal-notice/ — legal entity, HQ, registration
- hetzner.com/unternehmen/ueber-uns/ — founding year, data center parks
- robot.hetzner.com/doc/webservice/en.html — API incl. server ordering
- docs.hetzner.com/robot/dedicated-server/robot-interfaces/ — client libraries
- status.hetzner.com/ — status page
Questions about Hetzner
What GPUs does Hetzner offer?
Hetzner has 5 GPU types with a fresh offer today, for example RTX PRO 6000 from $1.61, RTX PRO 4000 from $0.38, RTX 4000 SFF Ada from $0.42 per GPU-hour on-demand. The full list with prices and market medians is on this page.
How does Hetzner bill?
Billing granularity: per started hour, capped at the monthly price. Minimum charge: One full hour (partial hours rounded up) plus the one-time setup fee (209 EUR GEX45; 599, 899, 1149 EUR GEX131-1, -2, -3). Server Auction servers have no setup fee. Stopped instance: Billed in full while the server exists on the account, even if turned off or unused; charges stop only after cancellation (effective immediately).
How trustworthy is Hetzner?
Its Trust Score is 74/100 (v0.1), read from its own documents. Strong on company & track record, infrastructure control, pricing & billing transparency. Weaker on reliability signals, security & compliance. The score measures transparency and published guarantees, not customer satisfaction; every criterion and its source is listed above.
Where are Hetzner's data centres?
3 named regions in 2 countries: Germany, Finland.
How do you pay Hetzner, and are there credits?
Payment by card, invoice. Free credits: No free trial ('you cannot try out products before purchasing them'); Hetzner credits offered for community tutorials. Identity check: ID on request.
