Scaleway
French cloud provider (iliad Group) with per-minute NVIDIA GPU Instances (L4, L40S, H100 PCIe/SXM, B300) in Paris and Warsaw, managed Kubernetes and managed inference, positioned on EU data sovereignty.
Trust Score v0.1- Company & track record100
- Infrastructure control100
- Pricing & billing transparency100
- Reliability signals75
- Security & compliance47
- Customer signal—
Scored Sep 29, 2026 from the provider's own pages. Dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominator. Criteria ↓
Trust Score · 5 of 6 dimensions measuredThe score, criterion by criterion
Each point comes from something the provider publishes, with the page it was read on and the date. Anything not disclosed earns zero.
| Founding year published | 1999scaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Headquarters published | Scaleway SASscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Legal entity named | Scaleway SASscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Funding or ownership disclosed | Subsidiary of the iliad Groupscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Capacity model published | operates or rents dedicated capacityscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 10 / 10 |
| Regions published | 3 regions or countriesscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Public prices without an account | yes (read on the pricing page)scaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Billing granularity published | per minutescaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Egress policy published | included (GPU page: no egress fees, 'Transfer data without penalty'); Object Storage egress 75 GB free then EUR 0.01/GBscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Stopped-instance billing published | Compute billing stops when the Instance is powered off; block volumes, snapshots and flexible IPs keep billing for their whole allocationscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Public IPv4 policy published | extra: EUR 0.005/hour per additional IPv4 on the network pricing page (Instances FAQ states EUR 0.004/hour); IPv6 freescaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Status page | https://status.scaleway.comscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA published | 99.5% on all GPU Instancesscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA with a numeric uptime commitment | 99.5% on all GPU Instancesscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Uptime history published | not disclosedscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 5 |
| Observed availability (30 days) | not measured yet | — |
| SOC 2 | not disclosedscaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 8 |
| ISO 27001 | ISO/IEC 27001:2022scaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| HIPAA or GDPR DPA | yes (DPA on contracts page, GDPR compliance)scaleway.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Aggregated public reviews | not collected yet | — |
What Scaleway charges, against the market
Cheapest current on-demand true cost here, next to the market median for the same GPU. Negative means cheaper than the market.
| GPU | Cheapest here | Market median | vs market | Current offers | Modes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H100 | $3.20 | $3.17 | +1% | 7 | on-demand | H100 prices |
| L40S | $1.64 | $1.24 | +33% | 8 | on-demand | L40S prices |
| B300 | $8.38 | $8.99 | −7% | 1 | on-demand | B300 prices |
| L4 | $0.88 | $0.80 | +9% | 12 | on-demand | L4 prices |
| Tesla P100 | $1.36 | $0.07 | +1721% | 2 | on-demand | Tesla P100 prices |
Every Scaleway offer, with its receipt
Current offers (last 45 days) ranked by true cost, all rental modes, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey.
| GPU | Configuration | Mode | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| L4 | 8× L464 vCPU · 384 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 8× L464 vCPU · 384 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 8× L464 vCPU · 384 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 4× L432 vCPU · 192 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 4× L432 vCPU · 192 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 4× L432 vCPU · 192 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 2× L416 vCPU · 96 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 2× L416 vCPU · 96 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 2× L416 vCPU · 96 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 1× L48 vCPU · 48 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 1× L48 vCPU · 48 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L4 | 1× L48 vCPU · 48 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | In stock | $0.88 | $0.88 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| Tesla P100outlier · suspended | 1× Tesla P10010 vCPU · 42 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Stock unknown | $1.36 | $1.36 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| Tesla P100outlier · suspended | 1× Tesla P10010 vCPU · 42 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $1.36 | $1.36 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 1× L40S8 vCPU · 96 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 1× L40S8 vCPU · 96 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 8× L40S64 vCPU · 768 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Unavailable | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 8× L40S64 vCPU · 768 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 4× L40S32 vCPU · 384 GB RAM | On-demand | France | Unavailable | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 4× L40S32 vCPU · 384 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 2× L40S16 vCPU · 192 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| L40S | 2× L40S16 vCPU · 192 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $1.64 | $1.64 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100PCIE | 2× H100 PCIE48 vCPU · 480 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100PCIE | 2× H100 PCIE48 vCPU · 480 GB RAM | On-demand | Poland | Unavailable | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100PCIE | 1× H100 PCIE24 vCPU · 240 GB RAM | On-demand | France | In stock | $3.20 | $3.20 | 00:20 UTCfresh | Receipt |
What the hourly price does not say
Billing granularity, minimums, what a stopped machine costs, traffic, addresses, deposits and identity checks, as published by the provider.
Billing
- Billing granularity
- per minute
- Minimum charge
- Billing FAQ: each resource billed for a minimum of 60 minutes (FAQ reviewed 2025-09-09); Instances FAQ: GPU Instances billed per minute of uptime including startup and standby, RENDER-S per hour
- Stopped instance
- Compute billing stops when the Instance is powered off; block volumes, snapshots and flexible IPs keep billing for their whole allocation
- Egress
- included (GPU page: no egress fees, 'Transfer data without penalty'); Object Storage egress 75 GB free then EUR 0.01/GB
- Public IPv4
- extra: EUR 0.005/hour per additional IPv4 on the network pricing page (Instances FAQ states EUR 0.004/hour); IPv6 free
- Billing model
- postpaid invoice
- Minimum deposit
- not published
- Free credits
- Generative APIs free tier: 1 million tokens and 60 minutes of audio transcription; no GPU Instance credit published
Account
- Payment
- card
- Sign-up
- email, password, card, government ID, support request for multi-GPU and H100/B300 types
- Identity check
- ID required
- Support
- tickets 24/7, hotline (paid plans), Slack community
- Enterprise support
- not published
- SLA
- 99.5% on all GPU Instances
- Status page
- status.scaleway.com ↗
- Published uptime
- not published
Infrastructure
- Regions
3 named regions in 2 countries
PAR-1 (France) · PAR-2 (France) · WAW-2 (Poland)- Countries
- France, Poland
- Platform
- API, CLI, serverless, SSH, custom Docker images, persistent volumes, snapshotsTerraform: officialKubernetes: managedInterconnect: NVLink 4th gen 900 GB/s (H100-SXM), NVLink 5th gen 1800 GB/s (B300); AI Supercomputer clusters with InfiniBand 400 Gb/sClusters: AI Supercomputer custom clusters (DGX H100, 16 to 1,016 GPUs), contact sales
- Storage
- volume · EUR 0.000130/GB-hour (Block Storage 5K, ~USD 0.1073/GB-month at 720 h); EUR 0.000177/GB-hour (Block 15K, ~USD 0.1460/GB-month) · Paris; converted at 1.1460 and 720 hobject · EUR 0.01606/GB-month Standard Multi-AZ, EUR 0.00803 One Zone, EUR 0.00254 Glacier; object egress 75 GB free per month then EUR 0.01/GB · Parisnetwork · File Storage EUR 0.000221/hour (EUR 0.16133/month) per unit, 25 GB to 50 TB · Unit as displayed on the pricing pageephemeral · included · Scratch NVMe included on L40S, H100 and B300 Instances (lost on stop)
- Migration out
- Instances run standard Ubuntu GPU OS images with Docker/NVIDIA Container Toolkit; block volumes can be snapshotted and images exported; Object Storage is S3-compatible; Kapsule is standard Kubernetes. No egress fee on Instances eases data export.
Security & compliance
- SOC 2
- not published
- ISO 27001
- ISO/IEC 27001:2022
- HIPAA
- not published
- GDPR / DPA
- yes (DPA on contracts page, GDPR compliance)
- Other
- HDS (French health data hosting; all GPU Instances HDS compliant per GPU FAQ); SecNumCloud under assessment
- Legal entity
- Scaleway SAS
- Funding
- Subsidiary of the iliad Group
Scaleway, in short
What stood out when we read the documents: strengths, weaknesses, who it suits, and what we could not find.
Strengths
- EU data residency and HDS compliance on all GPU Instances; ISO/IEC 27001:2022.
- Per-minute billing for GPU Instances; compute billing stops when powered off.
- Single-GPU H100 PCIe at EUR 2.87/hour and L4 at EUR 0.79/hour, available in Paris and Warsaw.
- B300-SXM 8-GPU instance published at EUR 60/hour (USD 8.595 per GPU-hour).
- No egress fees for Instances; IPv6 free.
- Official Terraform provider, CLI and API; managed Kubernetes (Kapsule) with GPU operator; managed inference.
- Written 99.5% SLA on GPU Instances.
Weaknesses
- Government photo ID plus facial verification required before any GPU Instance can be used; multi-GPU, H100 and B300 types also need a support request.
- No spot/interruptible GPU instances; GPUs not eligible to Savings Plans; no public reserved pricing.
- H100 SXM normalises to USD 3.63 to 3.79 per GPU-hour, about twice GPUBank's 1.85.
- IPv4 billed extra (EUR 0.005/hour) and block storage billed separately (EUR 0.000130/GB-hour for Block 5K).
- Only 2 GPU regions (Paris, Warsaw); H100-SXM and B300 in PAR-2 only.
- Card (physical, non-prepaid) mandatory even with SEPA; no crypto; postpaid monthly invoicing.
Ideal for
- European companies needing EU-sovereign, HDS-compliant GPU hosting with invoices and VAT handling
- Teams wanting single L4 or H100 PCIe GPUs in France with per-minute billing
Not published
- RENDER-S (P100) price not shown on the rendered pricing page
- recorded in catalogue only.
- H100-SXM-1-80G and B300-SXM-1/2/4-288G appear in the quotas page but have no published price.
- Conflict between billing FAQ (minimum 60 minutes per resource) and Instances/GPU FAQ (GPU billed per minute)
- Flexible IPv4 price conflict: EUR 0.005/hour (network pricing) vs EUR 0.004/hour (Instances FAQ).
- Founding year not stated on the pages read.
- SOC 2 and HIPAA status not published.
- Serverless GPU (Serverless Containers with GPU) not verified
- 'serverless' true refers to Generative APIs serverless and dedicated inference.
- Status page URL not verified by capture.
- SDK languages not verified on a captured page.
Observations
GPU pricing page shows EUR per hour and approx. per month, excl. VAT, per zone selector; default zone PAR-1 shows most GPU types as 'Not available in this zone'
Prices identical across PAR-2 and WAW-2 where offered
RENDER-S (P100) appears in docs and quotas but not in the rendered price table
Cost estimator on the GPU page includes volume and flexible IPv4 lines
Pages read
- scaleway.com/en/pricing/gpu/ — GPU instance prices per zone (captured for PAR-1, PAR-2, WAW-2
- scaleway.com/en/pricing/model-as-a-service/ — Managed inference GPU prices, Generative API free tier
- scaleway.com/en/gpu-instances/ — Per-minute billing, SLA 99.5%, HDS, no egress fees, Savings Plans exclusion
- scaleway.com/en/docs/gpu/reference-content/choosing-gpu-instance-type/ — GPU specs, NVLink, scratch storage, AI Supercomputer, SLO
- scaleway.com/en/docs/billing/faq/ — Payment methods, invoicing, minimum 60 minutes, suspension rules
- scaleway.com/en/docs/instances/faq/ — GPU per-minute billing, stopped instance billing, IPv4 price
- scaleway.com/en/docs/organizations-and-projects/organization/organization-quotas/ — GPU access requires identity validation or support contact
- scaleway.com/en/docs/account/setup-lifecycle/verify-identity/ — Government photo ID and face verification
- scaleway.com/en/pricing/network/ — Additional IPv4 price
- scaleway.com/en/pricing/storage/ — Block, object and file storage prices
- scaleway.com/en/product-availability-by-region/ — GPU availability by region
- scaleway.com/en/security-and-compliance/ — ISO 27001, HDS, SecNumCloud status, GDPR
- scaleway.com/en/support/ — Support tiers and prices
- scaleway.com/en/about-us/ — iliad Group subsidiary, countries of operation
- scaleway.com/en/terms/sla/ — SLA documents per product
- registry.terraform.io/providers/scaleway/scaleway/latest/docs — Official Terraform provider
- scaleway.com/en/docs/instances/api-cli/ — API and CLI
Providers people compare with it
Questions about Scaleway
What GPUs does Scaleway offer?
Scaleway has 5 GPU types with a fresh offer today, for example H100 from $3.20, L40S from $1.64, B300 from $8.38, L4 from $0.88, Tesla P100 from $1.36 per GPU-hour on-demand. The full list with prices and market medians is on this page.
How does Scaleway bill?
Billing granularity: per minute. Minimum charge: Billing FAQ: each resource billed for a minimum of 60 minutes (FAQ reviewed 2025-09-09); Instances FAQ: GPU Instances billed per minute of uptime including startup and standby, RENDER-S per hour Stopped instance: Compute billing stops when the Instance is powered off; block volumes, snapshots and flexible IPs keep billing for their whole allocation
How trustworthy is Scaleway?
Its Trust Score is 85/100 (v0.1), read from its own documents. Strong on company & track record, infrastructure control, pricing & billing transparency. Weaker on security & compliance. The score measures transparency and published guarantees, not customer satisfaction; every criterion and its source is listed above.
Where are Scaleway's data centres?
3 named regions in 2 countries: France, Poland.
How do you pay Scaleway, and are there credits?
Payment by card. Free credits: Generative APIs free tier: 1 million tokens and 60 minutes of audio transcription; no GPU Instance credit published. Identity check: ID required.
