Oracle Cloud
Hyperscaler selling NVIDIA and AMD GPU shapes (mostly 8-GPU bare metal, plus A10/V100/P100 VMs) at list prices per GPU-hour that are the same in every region, with per-second billing, 10 TB/month free egress and enterprise contracts via Universal Credits.
Trust Score v0.1- Company & track record100
- Infrastructure control100
- Pricing & billing transparency85
- Reliability signals60
- Security & compliance80
- Customer signal—
Scored Sep 29, 2026 from the provider's own pages. Dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominator. Criteria ↓
Trust Score · 5 of 6 dimensions measuredThe score, criterion by criterion
Each point comes from something the provider publishes, with the page it was read on and the date. Anything not disclosed earns zero.
| Founding year published | 1977oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Headquarters published | Oracle Corporationoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Legal entity named | Oracle Corporationoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Funding or ownership disclosed | Public company; corporate page states it went public on NASDAQ in 1986 (symbol ORCL) and reports US$57B revenue in FY2025 and 141,000 employees.oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Capacity model published | operates or rents dedicated capacityoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 10 / 10 |
| Regions published | 40 regions or countriesoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Public prices without an account | yes (read on the pricing page)oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 5 |
| Billing granularity published | per secondoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Egress policy published | metered: first 10 TB/month free per origin zone, then 0.0085 USD/GB (North America, Europe, UK), 0.025 USD/GB (APAC, Japan, South America), 0.05 USD/GB (Middle East, Africa); inbound freeoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Stopped-instance billing published | GPU shapes (and Dense I/O, HPC): billing continues while stopped because GPU and local NVMe are preserved; must terminate to stop billing. Exception: VM.GPU.A10 (VM.GPU.GU1) series pauses billing when stopped. Boot and block volumes are billed separately at block volume rates.oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| Public IPv4 policy published | not published (no public IP line item found in the price list)oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 3 |
| Status page | https://ocistatus.oraclecloud.com/oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA published | Availability, manageability and performance SLAs per service, defined in the Oracle PaaS and IaaS Public Cloud Services Pillar Document (PDF, not read); service credits claimed via account manager; Free Tier has no SLA. Compute percentage not read.oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 6 / 6 |
| SLA with a numeric uptime commitment | not disclosedoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 3 |
| Uptime history published | not disclosedoracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 0 / 5 |
| Observed availability (30 days) | not measured yet | — |
| SOC 2 | listed for OCI (SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3; report type not stated on page)oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 5 / 8 |
| ISO 27001 | yes (ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701, 42001 listed for OCI)oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 4 / 4 |
| HIPAA or GDPR DPA | yes (HIPAA and HITRUST CSF listed for OCI)oracle.com · Sep 29, 2026 | 3 / 3 |
| Aggregated public reviews | not collected yet | — |
What Oracle Cloud charges, against the market
Cheapest current on-demand true cost here, next to the market median for the same GPU. Negative means cheaper than the market.
| GPU | Cheapest here | Market median | vs market | Current offers | Modes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H100 | $10.00 | $3.17 | +216% | 2 | on-demand | H100 prices |
| A100 80GB | $4.00 | $1.92 | +109% | 1 | on-demand | A100 80GB prices |
| H200 | $10.00 | $4.80 | +108% | 1 | on-demand | H200 prices |
| L40S | $3.50 | $1.24 | +183% | 1 | on-demand | L40S prices |
| B200 | $14.00 | $7.50 | +87% | 1 | on-demand | B200 prices |
| MI300X | $6.00 | $2.71 | +121% | 1 | on-demand | MI300X prices |
| GB200 | $16.00 | $8.00 | +100% | 1 | on-demand | GB200 prices |
Every Oracle Cloud offer, with its receipt
Current offers (last 45 days) ranked by true cost, all rental modes, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey.
| GPU | Configuration | Mode | Region | Stock | List | True cost | Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| L40S | 1× L40S | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $3.50 | $3.50 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| A100 80GB | 1× A100 80GB | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $4.00 | $4.00 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| MI300X | 1× MI300X | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $6.00 | $6.00 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H200 | 1× H200 | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $10.00 | $10.00 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXMoutlier · suspended | 1× H100 SXM | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $10.00 | $10.00 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| H100SXMoutlier · suspended | 1× H100 SXM | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $10.75 | $10.75 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| B200 | 1× B200 | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $14.00 | $14.00 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
| GB200 | 1× GB200 | On-demand | all commercial regions | Stock unknown | $16.00 | $16.00 | 00:19 UTCfresh | Receipt |
What the hourly price does not say
Billing granularity, minimums, what a stopped machine costs, traffic, addresses, deposits and identity checks, as published by the provider.
Billing
- Billing granularity
- per second
- Minimum charge
- VM instances: 1 minute; bare metal instances: 1 hour; then 1-second increments (release note, 15 Apr 2020).
- Stopped instance
- GPU shapes (and Dense I/O, HPC): billing continues while stopped because GPU and local NVMe are preserved; must terminate to stop billing. Exception: VM.GPU.A10 (VM.GPU.GU1) series pauses billing when stopped. Boot and block volumes are billed separately at block volume rates.
- Egress
- metered: first 10 TB/month free per origin zone, then 0.0085 USD/GB (North America, Europe, UK), 0.025 USD/GB (APAC, Japan, South America), 0.05 USD/GB (Middle East, Africa); inbound free
- Public IPv4
- not published (no public IP line item found in the price list)
- Billing model
- postpaid invoice
- Minimum deposit
- None: 'No minimums and no prepayment are required for your paid account' (Free Tier FAQ). Card authorised for 1 USD at sign-up and 100 USD at upgrade to Pay As You Go (reversed).
- Free credits
- Free Trial: US$300 for up to 30 days (select countries) plus Always Free services; GPU eligibility of trial credit not stated on pages read.
Account
- Payment
- card
- Sign-up
- email, password, name, country, address, phone, card, home region selection, CAPTCHA, company (optional), sales call for corporate account type
- Identity check
- card verification
- Support
- support service requests (My Oracle Support), chat, phone (sales), community forums
- Enterprise support
- not published
- SLA
- Availability, manageability and performance SLAs per service, defined in the Oracle PaaS and IaaS Public Cloud Services Pillar Document (PDF, not read); service credits claimed via account manager; Free Tier has no SLA. Compute percentage not read.
- Status page
- ocistatus.oraclecloud.com ↗
- Published uptime
- not published
Infrastructure
- Regions
40 named regions in 27 countries
Australia East (Australia) · Australia Southeast (Australia) · Brazil East (Brazil) · Brazil Southeast (Brazil) · Canada Southeast (Montreal) (Canada) · Canada Southeast (Toronto) (Canada) · Chile Central (Chile) · Chile West (Chile) · Colombia Central (Colombia) · France Central (France) · France South (France) · Germany Central (Germany) · India South (India) · India West (India) · Indonesia North (Indonesia) · Israel Central (Israel) · Italy Northwest (Italy) · Italy North (Italy) · Japan Central (Japan) · Japan East (Japan) · Malaysia West 2 (Malaysia) · Mexico Central (Mexico) · Mexico Northeast (Mexico) · Morocco West (Morocco) · Netherlands Northwest (Netherlands) · Saudi Arabia Central (Saudi Arabia) · Saudi Arabia West (Saudi Arabia) · Serbia Central (realm OC20) (Serbia) · Singapore (Singapore) · Singapore West (Singapore) · South Africa Central (South Africa) · South Korea Central (South Korea) · South Korea North (South Korea) · Spain Central (Madrid) (Spain) · Spain Central (Madrid 3) (Spain) · Sweden Central (Sweden) · Switzerland North (Switzerland) · UAE Central (United Arab Emirates) · UAE East (United Arab Emirates) · UK South (United Kingdom) …- Countries
- Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States
- Platform
- API, CLI, SSH, persistent volumes, spot or interruptible, bare metalSDK: Java, Python, TypeScript/JavaScript, .NET, Go, Ruby, PL/SQLTerraform: officialKubernetes: managedInterconnect: RDMA cluster networking (RoCE) up to 3,200 Gb/s per bare metal node (8 x 400 Gb/s); 8 x 800 Gb/s on BM.GPU.B300.8; 4 x 400 Gb/s InfiniBand on BM.GPU.GB200.4 (price list)Clusters: OCI Supercluster: up to 131,072 B200 GPUs (or B200 in GB200), 65,536 H200, 32,768 A100, 16,384 H100, 16,384 MI300X (GPU page).
- Storage
- volume · 0.0255 USD/GB-month + performance units 0.0017 USD per VPU per GB-month (balanced = 10 VPU = 0.017 USD/GB-month; 0 VPU lower-cost tier) · Block Volume; boot volumes billed at the same rate in addition to the instance price.object · 0.0255 USD/GB-month (Standard); 0.01 USD/GB-month Infrequent Access (+0.01 USD/GB retrieval); Archive 0.0026 USD/GB-month; requests 0.0034 USD per 10,000network · File Storage 0.30 USD/GB-month; File Storage with Lustre 0.086 USD/GB-month + performance unitsephemeral · included · Local NVMe on bare metal GPU shapes is part of the shape (e.g. 16 x 3.84 TB on BM.GPU.H100.8); VM GPU shapes are block storage only.
- Migration out
- Data can be exported via Object Storage (0.0255 USD/GB-month) and egress is free for the first 10 TB/month per origin zone, then 0.0085 USD/GB in North America and Europe. Infrastructure defined in Terraform uses the OCI provider and must be rewritten for another provider. Custom images are stored at Object Storage rates; image export format was not verified. Local NVMe data on bare metal shapes must be copied off before termination.
Security & compliance
- SOC 2
- listed for OCI (SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3; report type not stated on page)
- ISO 27001
- yes (ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701, 42001 listed for OCI)
- HIPAA
- yes (HIPAA and HITRUST CSF listed for OCI)
- GDPR / DPA
- EU Cloud Code of Conduct listed for OCI; DPA not read
- Other
- PCI DSS, CSA STAR, FedRAMP, DoD DISA SRG, C5, ENS, HDS, TISAX, NHS DSPT, IRAP, ISMAP, MTCS, OSPAR, Cyber Essentials, ISO 9001/20000-1/22301 and others listed for OCI (read from the per-service check marks in the page HTML)
- Legal entity
- Oracle Corporation
- Funding
- Public company; corporate page states it went public on NASDAQ in 1986 (symbol ORCL) and reports US$57B revenue in FY2025 and 141,000 employees.
Oracle Cloud, in short
What stood out when we read the documents: strengths, weaknesses, who it suits, and what we could not find.
Strengths
- Wide GPU catalogue with public list prices: 15 models from P100 to B300, GB300 NVL72 and AMD MI355X, all priced per GPU-hour.
- Same list price in every public region, including government regions (pricing page).
- 10 TB/month free egress, then 0.0085 USD/GB in North America and Europe.
- Bare metal GPU shapes with large local NVMe (61.4 TB on BM.GPU.H100.8) and RDMA cluster networking up to 3,200 Gb/s.
- Per-second billing (1-minute minimum on VMs).
- Broad compliance list for OCI (SOC 1/2/3, ISO 27001, HIPAA, FedRAMP, C5, PCI DSS).
- Official Terraform provider, CLI, SDKs in six languages plus PL/SQL, and managed Kubernetes (OKE) with GPU nodes.
- Support for production workloads included in base fees.
Weaknesses
- High on-demand list prices: H100 and H200 at 10.00 USD/GPU-h, B200 at 14.00 USD/GPU-h.
- Current-generation GPUs are sold only as 8-GPU (or 4-GPU GB200/GB300/L40S) bare metal nodes: the smallest H100 purchase is 80 USD/h.
- Bare metal instances have a 1-hour minimum charge.
- Stopped GPU instances keep billing (except VM.GPU.A10); termination is required to stop charges.
- Preemptible (50% off) is limited to legacy VM.GPU2 and VM.GPU3 shapes; no preemptible option for bare metal or current GPUs.
- Card-only self-serve payment; prepaid, virtual and PIN debit cards refused; no crypto.
- Trial and Pay As You Go tenancies are limited to one subscribed region until a limit increase is granted.
- GPU availability by region is not shown on the price list.
Ideal for
- Enterprises already on Oracle contracts (Universal Credits, Support Rewards) that need large bare metal GPU clusters with compliance attestations.
- Teams training on full 8-GPU nodes or Superclusters with RDMA networking and large local NVMe.
- Workloads with heavy egress that benefit from 10 TB/month free.
Not published
- GPU availability per region: not published on the price list or shapes doc read.
- Form factor of H100 and A100 80GB (SXM vs PCIe) is not named by Oracle
- normalised to SXM from the 8-GPU bare metal design and the NVLink validation step in the H100 quick-start guide.
- Reserved/committed-use GPU discounts (Universal Credits volume discounts) are not published
- Public IPv4 pricing: no line item found in the price list.
- SLA percentages for Compute: in the Pillar Document PDF, not read.
- Current headquarters city and country: not stated on corporate pages read (history mentions a move to Redwood Shores, California).
- PayPal and wire/invoice payment for Pay As You Go: not stated on pages read
- Universal Credits contracts go through sales.
- Whether Free Trial credits can be used on GPU shapes: not stated on pages read.
- SOC 2 report type (Type I or II) not stated on the compliance page.
- Serverless GPU product, templates, Jupyter, custom Docker image and snapshot details: not verified on pages read.
- Status page lists regions (US Central Columbus, US Mid West Shawnee, US West Boardman) not in the docs commercial region table
- regions list uses the docs table.
- Compute Cloud@Customer GPU.L40S (2.90 USD/GPU-h, 0.60 resource commit) and Oracle Cloud VMware Solution BM.GPU.A10.64 (16/13/11 USD per node-hour on monthly/1-year/3-year commit) are on-premises or VMware products and are not
Observations
The registry pricing URL /cloud/compute/pricing/ (and /cloud/compute/gpu/pricing/) redirects to the all-services price list at /cloud/price-list/#pricing-compute, a single page of about 114,000 characters.
Prices are public without an account; a currency selector offers USD, EUR, GBP, AUD, CAD and about 50 other currencies.
The GPU table under 'GPU - Accelerated Compute' shows shape, GPUs, architecture, network and 'GPU price per hour'; a footnote says server price = GPU price x number of GPUs.
The same GPU shapes are repeated in Data Science sections (Jobs, Model Deployment) with the same per-GPU prices; the Data Science list uses BM.GPU.L40S-NC.4.
P100 shapes appear both in the current GPU table and in a Legacy Compute table stating previous-generation instances are no longer available for new deployments.
Minor inconsistencies between price list and shapes doc: GB200 189 GB vs 192 GB, GB300 279 GB vs 278 GB, 'RTXPro' vs 'RTXPRO'; GB200/GB300 shape names carry footnote digits ('GB200.41').
Discount rules sit in footnotes: preemptible = 50% of regular price; unused capacity reservations = 85% of regular price.
NVIDIA AI Enterprise is a separate per-GPU-hour add-on (2.50 USD/GPU-h for H100 and H200, 3.50 for B200, 4.00 for GB200, 1.00 for A100 80GB, 0.88 for L40S and A10, 0.76 for A100 40GB).
GPU landing page advertises MI300X at 'US$6 per GPU-hour' and says other clouds' GPUs 'can be up to 220% more expensive' (based on June 5, 2024 on-demand pricing); main CTA is 'Talk with a GPU expert'.
No per-region GPU availability or stock indicator on the price list; the Cost Estimator is a separate tool.
Pages read
- oracle.com/cloud/price-list/#pricing-compute — GPU per-GPU-hour prices, preemptible 50% and capacity-reservation 85% rules, block/object/file storage, egress, NVIDIA AI Enterprise add-on
- oracle.com/cloud/compute/gpu/ — GPU catalogue overview, Supercluster sizes, MI300X US$6/GPU-h claim, RDMA bandwidth
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/Compute/References/computeshapes.htm — GPU shape specs: OCPU, RAM, local NVMe, network
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/Compute/Concepts/preemptible.htm — Supported shapes (VM.GPU2, VM.GPU3 only), 50% price, termination behaviour
- oracle.com/cloud/compute/faq/ — Billing metric per GPU-hour; stopped GPU instances keep billing except VM.GPU.A10
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/releasenotes/changes/20facdce-34bf-4648-a0a7-de5db73657ce/ — Per-second billing, 1-minute VM and 1-hour bare metal minimums
- oracle.com/cloud/free/faq/ — Payment methods, card verification, US$300 trial, no minimums or prepayment, support gating
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/GSG/Tasks/signingup_topic-Sign_Up_for_Free_Oracle_Cloud_Promotion.htm — Sign-up fields and card verification
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/Billing/Tasks/changingpaymentmethod.htm — 1 USD / 100 USD card authorisations, Pay As You Go upgrade, corporate account via sales
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/General/Concepts/regions.htm — Commercial region list; one subscribed region limit for trial and Pay As You Go
- oracle.com/cloud/pricing/ — Same price in every region, 10 TB free egress, support included, Universal Credits
- oracle.com/cloud/sla/ — SLA types and claims process
- oracle.com/corporate/cloud-compliance/ — Attestations listed for OCI
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/dev/terraform/home.htm — Official Terraform provider
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/API/Concepts/sdks.htm — SDK languages and CLI
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/API/Concepts/cliconcepts.htm — CLI
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/ContEng/Concepts/contengoverview.htm — Managed Kubernetes with GPU nodes
- ocistatus.oraclecloud.com/ — Status page
- oracle.com/corporate/ — Company facts, founding 1977, IPO 1986
- docs.oracle.com/en-us/iaas/Content/Compute/gpu-quick-start/nvidia/H100/README-H100.htm — NVLink validation on BM.GPU.H100.8 (form factor normalisation
- sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001341439/000119312526277521/orcl-20260531.htm — Headquarters
Questions about Oracle Cloud
What GPUs does Oracle Cloud offer?
Oracle Cloud has 14 GPU types with a fresh offer today, for example H100 from $10.00, A100 80GB from $4.00, H200 from $10.00, L40S from $3.50, B200 from $14.00, MI300X from $6.00 per GPU-hour on-demand. The full list with prices and market medians is on this page.
How does Oracle Cloud bill?
Billing granularity: per second. Minimum charge: VM instances: 1 minute; bare metal instances: 1 hour; then 1-second increments (release note, 15 Apr 2020). Stopped instance: GPU shapes (and Dense I/O, HPC): billing continues while stopped because GPU and local NVMe are preserved; must terminate to stop billing. Exception: VM.GPU.A10 (VM.GPU.GU1) series pauses billing when stopped. Boot and block volumes are billed separately at block volume rates.
How trustworthy is Oracle Cloud?
Its Trust Score is 84/100 (v0.1), read from its own documents. Strong on company & track record, infrastructure control. Weaker on reliability signals. The score measures transparency and published guarantees, not customer satisfaction; every criterion and its source is listed above.
Where are Oracle Cloud's data centres?
40 named regions in 27 countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.
How do you pay Oracle Cloud, and are there credits?
Payment by card. Free credits: Free Trial: US$300 for up to 30 days (select countries) plus Always Free services; GPU eligibility of trial credit not stated on pages read.. Identity check: card verification.
