gpurank
esc
  • Nothing named “”. Press Enter to search the offers instead.
↑↓ to move · ↵ to open · esc to close0 entries
Operator · San Francisco, CA · founded 2021

fal

San Francisco generative-media inference platform: 1,000+ hosted model APIs billed per output, Serverless for custom apps billed per second of runner lifetime, and dedicated H100 SXM Compute instances.

GPU types6with a current offer
Current offers3031 readings on file · last 45 days
H100 from—per GPU-hour, on-demand
Entry price—cheapest GPU-hour listed
Countries1regions not published
Trust Score v0.1
87/100
  • Company & track record100
  • Infrastructure control100
  • Pricing & billing transparency65
  • Reliability signals100
  • Security & compliance73
  • Customer signal—

Scored Sep 29, 2026 from the provider's own pages. Dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominator. Criteria ↓

Trust Score · 5 of 6 dimensions measured

The score, criterion by criterion

Each point comes from something the provider publishes, with the page it was read on and the date. Anything not disclosed earns zero.

Company & track record
weight 15%
100 / 100
Founding year published2021fal.ai · Sep 29, 20264 / 4
Headquarters publishedFeatures & Labels, Inc.fal.ai · Sep 29, 20263 / 3
Legal entity namedFeatures & Labels, Inc.fal.ai · Sep 29, 20264 / 4
Funding or ownership disclosedPrivate; 'backed by the best Silicon Valley investors and angels' (no amounts on the pages read)fal.ai · Sep 29, 20264 / 4
Infrastructure control
weight 15%
100 / 100
Capacity model publishedoperates or rents dedicated capacityfal.ai · Sep 29, 202610 / 10
Regions published1 regions or countriesfal.ai · Sep 29, 20265 / 5
Pricing & billing transparency
weight 20%
65 / 100
Public prices without an accountyes (read on the pricing page)fal.ai · Sep 29, 20265 / 5
Billing granularity publishedmixedfal.ai · Sep 29, 20264 / 4
Egress policy publishednot disclosedfal.ai · Sep 29, 20260 / 4
Stopped-instance billing publishedServerless: nothing billed once a runner is TERMINATED; IDLE runners (keep_alive, min_concurrency), setup() and draining are billed at the full per-second rate. Compute: billed per hour at a fixed rate while the instance exists, regardless of utilization.fal.ai · Sep 29, 20264 / 4
Public IPv4 policy publishednot disclosedfal.ai · Sep 29, 20260 / 3
Reliability signals
weight 20%
100 / 100
Status pagehttps://status.fal.ai/fal.ai · Sep 29, 20266 / 6
SLA published'99.99% uptime SLA' stated on the Serverless product page; enterprise page mentions SLA guarantees (terms not published)fal.ai · Sep 29, 20266 / 6
SLA with a numeric uptime commitment'99.99% uptime SLA' stated on the Serverless product page; enterprise page mentions SLA guarantees (terms not published)fal.ai · Sep 29, 20263 / 3
Uptime history publishedStatus page, 90 days: API 99.98%, Model API 99.97%, Serverless API 100.0% (read 2026-09-29, with an incident open that day)fal.ai · Sep 29, 20265 / 5
Observed availability (30 days)not measured yet—
Security & compliance
weight 15%
73 / 100
SOC 2Type IIfal.ai · Sep 29, 20268 / 8
ISO 27001not disclosedfal.ai · Sep 29, 20260 / 4
HIPAA or GDPR DPADPA referenced in subprocessor notices; text not publicfal.ai · Sep 29, 20263 / 3
Customer signal
weight 15%
not measured
Aggregated public reviewsnot collected yet—
provisional v0.1: evidence from the provider's own pages; dimensions not yet measured are excluded from the denominatorFull method →
Prices by GPU · 6 GPU types with a current offer

What fal charges, against the market

Cheapest current on-demand true cost here, next to the market median for the same GPU. Negative means cheaper than the market.

GPUCheapest hereMarket medianvs marketCurrent offersModes
H100no on-demand$3.17—2serverlessreservedH100 prices
H200no on-demand$4.80—2serverlessreservedH200 prices
RTX PRO 6000no on-demand$2.15—2serverlessreservedRTX PRO 6000 prices
B200no on-demand$7.50—2serverlessreservedB200 prices
B300no on-demand$8.99—2serverlessreservedB300 prices
GB200no on-demand$8.00—2serverlessreservedGB200 prices
All offers · 31 readings on file

Every fal offer, with its receipt

Current offers (last 45 days) ranked by true cost, all rental modes, each with its read date. Older readings stay listed below, in grey.

GPUConfigurationModeRegionStockListTrue costRead
RTX PRO 60001× RTX PRO 6000Reserved—Stock unknown$1.99$1.9900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
H100SXM1× H100 SXMReserved—Stock unknown$2.49$2.4900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
H2001× H200Reserved—Stock unknown$2.99$2.9900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
RTX PRO 60001× RTX PRO 6000Serverless—Stock unknown$4.00$4.0000:32 UTCfreshReceipt
H100SXM1× H100 SXMServerless—Stock unknown$4.50$4.5000:32 UTCfreshReceipt
B2001× B200Reserved—Stock unknown$5.49$5.4900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
GB2001× GB200Reserved—Stock unknown$5.89$5.8900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
B3001× B300Reserved—Stock unknown$5.99$5.9900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
H2001× H200Serverless—Stock unknown$6.00$6.0000:32 UTCfreshReceipt
B2001× B200Serverless—Stock unknown$7.99$7.9900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
GB2001× GB200Serverless—Stock unknown$9.99$9.9900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
B3001× B300Serverless—Stock unknown$12.99$12.9900:32 UTCfreshReceipt
12 fresh offers · prices per GPU-hour · true cost includes the add-ons the provider publishesOpen in the comparison tool →
True cost & billing · read Sep 29, 2026

What the hourly price does not say

Billing granularity, minimums, what a stopped machine costs, traffic, addresses, deposits and identity checks, as published by the provider.

Billing

Billing granularity
mixed
Minimum charge
not published
Stopped instance
Serverless: nothing billed once a runner is TERMINATED; IDLE runners (keep_alive, min_concurrency), setup() and draining are billed at the full per-second rate. Compute: billed per hour at a fixed rate while the instance exists, regardless of utilization.
Egress
not published
Public IPv4
not published
Billing model
both
Minimum deposit
not published
Free credits
Free credits and coupons granted case by case; the FAQ gives expiry of 1 week to 1 year, the Terms say promotional credits expire in 90 days. Purchased credits expire 365 days after purchase and are non-refundable.

Account

Payment
card · invoice · crypto (not published)
Sign-up
GitHub or Google OAuth, or SSO/SAML, prepaid credits (card or ACH) before use, fal team approval for Serverless deploys, Compute access requested via dashboard (marked Enterprise)
Identity check
not published
Support
email ([email protected]), discord, dashboard
Enterprise support
not published
SLA
'99.99% uptime SLA' stated on the Serverless product page; enterprise page mentions SLA guarantees (terms not published)
Published uptime
Status page, 90 days: API 99.98%, Model API 99.97%, Serverless API 100.0% (read 2026-09-29, with an incident open that day)

Infrastructure

Regions
—
Countries
—
Platform
API, CLI, serverless, SSH, custom Docker images, persistent volumesSDK: Python (fal, fal-client), JavaScript/TypeScript (@fal-ai/client), Swift, Kotlin/Java, DartKubernetes: noInterconnect: InfiniBand between 8xH100-SXM Compute instances in the same sector; NVLink 4.0 900 GB/s on H100 (machine-types doc)Clusters: Multi-node 8xH100-SXM in one sector over InfiniBand; dedicated clusters for research labs via sales
Storage
network · not published · Persistent /data volume shared across all runners of the account (local NVMe, datacenter cache, global object store).ephemeral · included · Compute instances include 1 TB SSD (1xH100-SXM) or 8 TB SSD (8xH100-SXM).object · not published · Generated media on fal CDN, kept at least 7 days by default.
Migration out
Serverless apps are Python fal.App classes or standard Docker images/HTTP servers (Direct Server Mode), so containers are portable; files on /data can be downloaded through the Platform API files endpoints. Compute instances are Ubuntu SSH hosts, data leaves via scp/rsync. Generated media on fal CDN expires (7 days default) and must be downloaded.

Security & compliance

SOC 2
Type II
ISO 27001
not published
HIPAA
not published
GDPR / DPA
DPA referenced in subprocessor notices; text not public
Other
Penetration report and CAIQ v4.1.0 in Trust Center (access on request)
Legal entity
Features & Labels, Inc.
Funding
Private; 'backed by the best Silicon Valley investors and angels' (no amounts on the pages read)
Read on the provider's own pages · 22 pages read · facts marked "not published" were looked for and not foundPages read ↓
Assessment · documents read Sep 29, 2026

fal, in short

What stood out when we read the documents: strengths, weaknesses, who it suits, and what we could not find.

Strengths

  • 1,000+ hosted generative media model endpoints billed per output; server errors (HTTP 500+) and queue time not charged
  • Serverless for custom models: per-second billing, pending time and image pulls not billed, autoscaling from zero, custom Docker images from private registries
  • Public list prices for B300, GB200, B200, H200, H100 and RTX PRO 6000
  • SOC 2 Type II report (latest announced 27 April 2026) in Trust Center
  • Migration guides from Replicate, Modal, RunPod and Baseten
  • Public status page with per-component 90-day uptime

Weaknesses

  • Two public pages give different GPU prices on the same date (H100 'as low as' 1.89 USD/h on /pricing vs 2.49 on /serverless; B300 list 8.50/h vs 12.99)
  • Serverless deploys require manual approval by the fal team; Compute access is requested via the dashboard and marked Enterprise
  • Compute hourly rates not published ('Contact the fal team or check the dashboard')
  • Idle runners (keep_alive, min_concurrency) and setup() time billed at the full rate
  • Model API concurrency starts at 2 requests, scales with purchase history to 40 self-serve
  • Purchased credits expire after 365 days and are non-refundable
  • No published regions, storage price, egress or IPv4 policy
  • Compute limited to 1x and 8x H100 SXM

Ideal for

  • Teams building image, video and audio generation products who want per-output APIs for hosted models
  • Teams deploying custom diffusion or media models that need autoscaling serverless GPUs and accept per-second runner billing
  • Enterprises needing SOC 2 Type II, SSO and invoice billing

Not published

  • Compute (1xH100-SXM, 8xH100-SXM) hourly rates: not published, dashboard or sales only
  • Conditions behind 'As low as' prices (volume, commitment, term): not published
  • Time unit of the /serverless price table: not printed
  • figures conflict with /pricing
  • Prices for A100, L40, L40S, RTX 4090, RTX 5090, RTX A6000 and H100 MIG: not on public pages (likely dashboard or Platform API behind a key)
  • B300 and GB200 machine specs (CPU/RAM): not in machine-types doc
  • Persistent /data storage price, egress and IPv4 policy: not published
  • Regions and data center locations: not published (Trust Center lists Google Cloud, United States, as infrastructure subprocessor only)
  • Crypto payment: not mentioned
  • Terms name payment card and ACH in USD only
  • Identity/KYC requirements: not documented
  • Terms contain US export-control representations
  • Minimum credit purchase amount: not published

Observations

fal.ai/pricing shows a 5-row GPU table (List Price and 'As low as', $/h) without an account, plus per-output model prices

fal.ai/serverless shows a separate 6-row table including GB200, with no time unit and different figures

Compute docs list instance specs but defer rates to the dashboard or sales

Headline 'as low as $1.89/hr for H100' on the pricing page

Pages read

Questions about fal

How does fal bill?

Billing granularity: mixed. Stopped instance: Serverless: nothing billed once a runner is TERMINATED; IDLE runners (keep_alive, min_concurrency), setup() and draining are billed at the full per-second rate. Compute: billed per hour at a fixed rate while the instance exists, regardless of utilization.

How trustworthy is fal?

Its Trust Score is 87/100 (v0.1), read from its own documents. Strong on company & track record, infrastructure control, reliability signals. Weaker on pricing & billing transparency. The score measures transparency and published guarantees, not customer satisfaction; every criterion and its source is listed above.

Where are fal's data centres?

1 countries: —.

How do you pay fal, and are there credits?

Payment by card, invoice, crypto. Free credits: Free credits and coupons granted case by case; the FAQ gives expiry of 1 week to 1 year, the Terms say promotional credits expire in 90 days. Purchased credits expire 365 days after purchase and are non-refundable..